We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Foggy Dew

Foggy Dew
Ranked #924 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$5 - US$13
Cuisines: Bar, Pub, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Temple Bar
Description: Situated overlooking Central Bank Square in the heart of Dublin city centre, The Foggy Dew offers a charming blend of old world tradition fused with an appealing contemporary atmosphere.This historical bar is the perfect spot for a quiet afternoon pint or alternatively a great meeting place before heading out on the town.The major strength of the Foggy Dew is that it provides all the best qualities of a local bar coupled with a great city centre location. The cosy size means that you will never lose your friends although if you need to escape for whatever reason there are plenty of corners for you to hide behind!Whether dropping by for a friendly drink, settling in to watch the match or just enjoying the great music from the Foggy Dew DJ or a live band on a Sunday evening, we are sure you will find a warm welcome with great service in a comfortable setting.
Wichita, Kansas
Level Contributor
223 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice pub!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

We wandered into this pub after we browsed through the Temple Bar area and needed a Guinness. The pub wasn't crowded when we arrived, but it filled up with locals by the time we left. The Guinness was delicious (as usual), and the fish and chips weren't bad. They were surprisingly un-greasy. Nice little traditional pub!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank stefnicole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    38
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Drink drink drink”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Good selection of drinks and specially beer. Music sets the environment and you feel it is a cosy place and welcoming, typical Dublin from what I understand, seems to be big around locals

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Antonio Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
173 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“I couldn't hear myself speak - we left before finishing drinks”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Bad time to visit, Ireland were playing football and in addition to the many tv screens, it was being blasted out of every speaker in the pub, which happen to be right were there are the only places to stand. The service was good and the pub looked really inviting. The drinks prices were bad with over 25 euros for 2 halves and 2 bottles of cider. buy by the time we had shouted to each other and tried moving 4 times we just could not get away from the ear piercing sound. It needed to go down a few notches. We ended up leaving before the last in the party finished their drinks as the headaches were setting in and we were losing our voices. It will be a great place with the sound a little lower. Will try it once more when the football is not on.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tigger32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great Sunday night gig”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

Kind of stumbled across this bar, and was enticed in by the sound if live music. The placed was packed and bouncing. The live band was amazing, an odd mix of reggae and SKA, but they certainly had the place jumping. Enjoyed it so much, went back the next night for a bit more of the same, but alas no live music on Mondays. Had a great night though, and beer prices very reasonable here!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank markymark05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great spot to catch up with friends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2013 via mobile

This pub is one of the best in Dublin for Friday night drinks with friends after work. Great atmosphere and reasonably priced drinks.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dublingirl_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Foggy Dew also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Foggy Dew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing