We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From what I remember great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hogan's

Hogan's
Ranked #1,544 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“From what I remember great place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2013 via mobile

As a tourist I was itching to get away from the horrible temple bar area........ Hogans was lovely a slice of perfect Dublin with a great clientele, expensive drinks and surroundings to match. This was what I was after so it was perfect from what I remember of it. Great dance floor downstairs and open till late. A must visit for people on a long city break at the weekend.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    21
    39
    18
    8
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Love Hate Relationship”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2013

Liked: Getting in early and it was relatively quiet, the group of 20 could chat in small clumps and beer quality is as good as you'll get anywhere else. There is plenty of standing space.

Disliked: It's positives can also be negatives. Limited seating and it seems the ace that people don't move on from, so when you are without a seat, it's likely to Stay that way. They don't have craft beers, which is opposite to what you expect because the staff are quite cool. When the DJ plays, it get LOUD, talking over.

Overall: I like Hogans. It attracts the cool people, not the posers.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Alan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
437 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 143 helpful votes
“Not impressed, but hey, you can get a pint there!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2013

We found this pub on purpose because it was recommended by Anthony Bourdain! We have no idea why. The staff poured our drinks just fine, but they didn't say anything beyond the amount of money we owed. The atmosphere was nothing special and didn't even seem all that traditional Irish. Sure, you can get a pint there, like you can anywhere else in Dublin, but you might as well spend your time somewhere with more atmosphere and with a staff that has more personality.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chester110105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Avoid this place”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2013

This pub used to be good but has completely lost it. No atmosphere, rude staff and the clear smell of people smoking weed. This is not a good representation of a Dublin pub, best avoided. If you want a good pint and a great Dublin pub atmosphere head to The Long Hall, Keogh's, O'Donohues, Mc Daids, Sheehans to name but a few. Dublin has a lot better to offer.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Monty2212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hogans a tale of two pubs.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2013

Popped in here on a damp Friday afternoon on recommendation.. Pleasant interior with big windows to watch the world pass by. Only a couple of Customers though. Fine by me as I was looking for a quite relaxing drink. Good comprehensive selection of beers, wines and spirits.
On returning later that evening the place was heaving! Typical Friday night Pub scene with, loud music. Clearly a popular haunt.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hogan's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Hogan's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing