We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lincoln's Inn

Lincoln's Inn
Ranked #716 of 2,529 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$3 - US$15
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub, Seafood, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Lincoln's Inn is a Jewel of Dublin's pub scene. An original Victorian boutique public house serving an International variety of spirits, wines, and beers, complimented with a breakfast, lunch and dinner menu. Once a favorite of James Joyce and now included on the Bloomsday Festival.
Napanee, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Great pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were served with a smile and conversation by a great gal. Service was very fast and the meal was delicious. A must when visiting Ireland.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank craigen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    37
    40
    17
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“The best-pulled pint I had anywhere in Ireland”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We were spending our last couple of days in Dublin after three weeks in southwest Ireland, and I had become very disappointed with stout in general, and Guinness in particular. But, since the only stout that Lincoln's Inn had to offer was Guinness, I decided to give it one last try. From the first sip, it was amazing: great taste and perfect texture -- this was a revelation! When I asked the bartender why it was so good at Lincoln's Inn and so ordinary elsewhere, he explained the meticulous care that they give their beer. They had a very sophisticated cooling system that kept all their kegs -- both the ones awaiting use and the ones connected to the taps -- at a perfectly constant temperature, well-cooled but not freezing. The lines to the taps were designed in such a way that no air could enter the brew between the keg and tap. They also had enough throughput, so that the product could never get stale; they drew the beer into proper glasses at precisely the right angle, and then let the glass sit long enough to let the bubbles "work" before serving it to the customer. The result was the best-tasting pint I had in Ireland, by far. It is almost unbelievable how proper storage and pulling can affect the taste in the glass.
The food -- especially the beef and Guiness stew -- was very good, too, and the atmosphere (late afternoon for early dinner) relaxed and friendly. Since Lincoln's Inn is within easy walking distance of Trinity College, but still a bit off the beaten track, it was not frequented by hordes of tourists, which we found to be another blessing.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank seddie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good but could do better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Was passing by on the way home from a family day at the merrion street festival,nice inside,good staff,food looked great coming out we only had a
Small snack which was fine,a good Guinness was had by myself,let down was the a glass of Sauvignon Blanc my wife had,not good at all.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Eoin12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
98 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“amazing food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2014

The beef stew was very very good as were the fish and chips! Nothing bad to say about this pub. :) would come here again

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Off the beaten track.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

Quaint local's place with typical Irish food. Located near Trinity College and Nassau Street activities. Staff is efficient. We particularly liked the locals Irish music jam session. It's a casual hangout.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank okbb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lincoln's Inn also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Lincoln's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing