We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food & Cheap Pints”
Review of O'Shea's Merchant

O'Shea's Merchant
Ranked #275 of 2,600 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Food & Cheap Pints”
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Found this place on the last full day and am bummed we didn't know of it sooner. Breakfast was so good and so cheap we came back for dinner. Full fry-up was €7.50 and "Quick fix" (fry up with out the mushroom, tomato or black pudding for those who are squeamish) is €5 both with coffee & tax included. Portions are huge (heads-up fellow Americans) and food was quite good. Dinner was a lamb stew with a pint included for €11 and fish and chips for €12. Both were quite large and very good. Lots of locals, which is always a good sign. Only draw back was the service. It was friendly but slow at breakfast, and indifferent and slow at dinner. (The bartender claimed it was our server's first day at dinner.) They do take cards without any hassle. Good place.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mark T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    101
    32
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Traditional irish Pub”
Reviewed 27 May 2014

OSheas is a traditonal Irish pub where you can get a taste of Irish music and dance ,The pints not bad either .Very friendly pub.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank magsdent55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GREEN BAY
Level 6 Contributor
929 reviews
447 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 307 helpful votes
“Sit at the bar”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

Sat at the bar for some drinks, dessert, and craic. Did not disappoint... Good bread and butter pudding, better conversation and ambience. Located south side of Liffey on Bridge Street.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank dsj5777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Worth going off the beaten path!”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I was looking for a less tourist-packed place than Temple Bar, and I found it at O'Shea's. They have an open music session every Sunday evening, and it draws a local crowd full of definite characters. The atmosphere is great, Noah (bartender) was super friendly. Just what I was looking for on a Sunday night.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SVar11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent food, unique place”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We've made a point to stop here every time we're in Dublin. Love the seafood chowder and the lamb stew. The pint of Guinness and (huge) bowl of stew is an excellent deal! Staff is always friendly, prices good, decor unique.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Abelard1079
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed O'Shea's Merchant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to O'Shea's Merchant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing