We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great pub food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Slattery's

Slattery's
Ranked #585 of 2,547 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Breakfast, Brunch, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Libertyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great pub food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

My husband and I walked around in the shops that branch off from the Spire. We came upon Slattery's and went in for a pint. We ended up staying for dinner and bringing food back to the hotel as take away for our son. The food was fresh and tasty and the Guinness was delicious. There was a nice crowd there and there was traditional music as well.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank BuddyMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    69
    47
    19
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
403 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Good all round”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014 via mobile

Lunch here was beautiful. Good portion, good price and good surroundings. Club sandwich of chicken and bacon with chips and side salad. Interesting pub just slightly let down by grotty loos.

Helpful?
Thank ElleBee14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valley Forge, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
79 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“pleased”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013

stopped in by chance one rainy evening and had a pint and fish and chips. The food was very good, especially the fish, and the bartender friendly and helpful. Definitely would return. convenient if you are in that north side location near the river.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clabbers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Worst experience in Dublin”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Four days spent in Dublin, excellent experiences everywhere... but at the Slattery's.
Don't feel sorry for not being able to serve us the beer we asked for. Don't feel sorry for charging 12,95 euros a precooked hamburger.
Was it beef, was it pork, was it lamb, was it plastic? Only the freezer would know.
When I say "I'll have it medium rare, please.", "It only comes well done" is not an appropriate answer.
The menu said "sesame seeds". Did they fall into the toaster? No, the buns were hardly toasted.
Were we satisfied with food & service? How would you know, you didn't ask. You were so busy serving the four other guys sipping at their Guinness by the bar.
We should have changed our minds and leave. We had the opportunity to do so... during the 25 minutes it took you to "cook" our food.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vincent C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“James Brown is the man!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

My girlfriend and I went here on Sunday night on the back of advice received from the band we had watched perform at the Arlington.

It was my birthday night out (we were over from Yorkshire for the weekend for my birthday) and Slattery's left us with fantastic memories, thanks mainly to the one and only James Brown and his karaoke show!

It was a priveledge to have the same birthday as him, and he even gave us both a slice of his cake to enjoy :)

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nmcq87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Slattery's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Slattery's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing