We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Magnificent”
Review of Bijou Restaurant

Bijou Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bijou Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #928 of 2,573 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$22 - US$45
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Rathfarnham
Description: Located in the heart of Rathgar village, Bijou is a bistro in art deco style with an outside terrace perfect to enjoy a drink & relax. We source local & fresh products to serve what are now signature dishes. Our style is relaxed, open and friendly. Come for everyday’s lunch, weekend brunch, our famous 3 course evening meal or anything in between!
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
59 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Magnificent”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great décor, service, atmosphere and of course food , a very elegant experience for Dublin.. I will be there again very soon for sure. I really liked the style of the top bar too.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Georges L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

324 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    102
    38
    30
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Busy local restaurant”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Always busy. Nice atmosphere. Not very adventurous. Just right for Rathgar. Good Cote de Rhone but not cheap

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank banjo333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Local favourite”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Another lovely meal last Saturday at Bijou. Chicken wings to start and steaks for mains with a shared pavlova for dessert. Food was really tasty and we thought the portions were spot on. Really like the drinks menu that is there now with Bijou's twist on popular cocktails. Service was very pleasant and it was a good atmosphere with some live music coming from the other side to where we were sitting.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanDougal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Overrated!”
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Visited here on Saturday last for a friends birthday. Heard great reports about this restaurant but felt it didn't live up to my expectations on the night. Food was good but not memorable, portion sizes too small and restuarant also lacked athmosphere. On the positive side, service was prompt and staff were very friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank adrienne k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
202 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Early evening menu”
Reviewed 16 July 2014

What a delightful evening - we walked to the restaurant in July evening sunshine and we were met by very friendly staff, seated and attended to with grace and decorum. Our early evening menu was tasty and great value - I started with prawns and followed wit hsummer vegetable risotto, my husband opted for beef for a main and rhubarb fool for dessert. All was superbly presented and delicious. House wine was South African - a little on the expensive side but manageable. Overall, I would recommend a visit.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Brillo2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bijou Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Bijou Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing