We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lost its mojo”
Review of Captain Americas

Captain Americas
Ranked #751 of 2,571 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$17 - US$56
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: Captain Americas brought the original burger to Ireland back in December 1971. Since then it has continued to serve good quality American style food at great value prices. Home to the famous Captain Americas hamburger and mouth watering flame grilled steaks, there is something for everyone on the menu. Captain Americas offers the most attractive lunch deals in town & the early bird menu is a great way to start every night out. Captain Americas has branches on Grafton St, Blanchardstown and in Cork City. All our restaurants are fully licensed and we have a great selection of cocktails, beers & wines for you to choose from. Over the years we have collected hundreds of pieces of memorabilia from visiting Irish and international stars such as U2, Colin Farrell, Westlife, Debbie Harry and David Bowie and Green Day. Our memorabilia museum creates a unique and interesting atmosphere in the restaurants. We take reservations for groups, please look at our bookings page for further information or call us on the number listed below. Open 7 days a week
Navan, Ireland
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lost its mojo”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Used to love coming here with the kids but the quaility of food has dropped significantly and the prices increased significantly kids meals gone from €4.95 to €6.95 and a tiny little pizza with no sides didn't fill my toddler the chips are frozen and overcooked and the service terrible

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank amandarounddworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

621 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    192
    116
    82
    81
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Terrible service”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Firstly my partner and I were seated at a tiny table, with very little space surrounding every passer by bumped off us and my chair was constantly moving around on account of the chair of the table next to us being occupied by a very energetic boy. We asked the matradee to move to a bigger table. There were several free tables and 4 free booths at that point. She said there were none free. 30 mins passed and we were fed up at the tiny table so we asked a very nice waitress if we could move, she moved us right away. She was very attentive, but the rest of the staff were peeved that we had moved and consequently neglected our order. Another 40 mins passed, still no burgers. We then told the waitress we wanted to cancel our order, the manager came over and asked what the problem was and we told him we have been waiting an hour maybe more for our food. We had to go by this stage as we hadn't accounted for a burger taking an hour. So he then charged us for our starters and drinks and didn't even apologise. Also all of the staff ignored us going out the door not one member of staff said sorry, thank you or good bye! Very very bad customer care they really ought to sort that out! The staff were only there for their wage very disinterested
Staff! disappointing experience to say the least

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Graceruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Mediocre can't compare to cork CA ”
Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

We where seated promptly. Menus given and order taken.
My kids enjoyed their pasta and dessert.
My loaded pot skins just had no flavour. Chicken caesar salad was dry and tastless with plenty of gritty bits ( poorly washed salad)
Hubbys chicken wings ok, burger no seasoning again.
Staff where busy chatting and messing around the window table that it took a lot of effort to get anyone's attention.
Poor and disappointing.
CORK CAPTAIN AMERICAS IS 100 TIMES BETTER AND NEVER FAILS WITH THE SERVICE OR STAFF.

Helpful?
Thank Margit O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Bad to worse”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Staff were rude to us except one nice waitress. Waited an hour for mediocre food. Waitress bumped off me several times never apologised.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“dark restaurant, terrible food”
Reviewed 4 July 2014

I have previously visited Captain Americas twice before my most recent experience and always found it ok,

This time, I felt it really lacks everything. Food is loaded with salt, cheese and is overpriced. Rotten

We got the nachos, chilli nachos - all the nachos were crumbled.
Salsa was so sweet. We also got buffalo wings with BBQ sauce, really sweet, exactly the same taste as the salsa.
The Lasagne had hardly any meat just sauce and cheese.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank family_travels85_ie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Americas also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Captain Americas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing