We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An unexpected pleasure”
Review of La Mere Zou - CLOSED

La Mere Zou
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$35 - US$111
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Description: A few yards away from the Shelbourne, the Conrad and the Fitzwilliam hotel, La Mère Zou was opened in 1994 and specializes in Classic French Cuisine; we also offer a large selection of fish and seafood selected directly from the local fishmarket. At La Mère Zou you can relax in a warm, familial atmosphere while enjoying the very best in cuisine and service. Our unique decor and simple seasonal food have made us a byword for fine dining in the centre of Dublin.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An unexpected pleasure”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were staying at the Shelbourne and didn't want to go far for dinner. La Mere Zou, a block away, was better than any place we could have worked hard to find. Cozy environment and very good and originally prepared food. A pleasant surprise.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lacyspring
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCM1982, Public Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of La mother Zou in our 20th year. We are always delighted to welcome visitors from the Shelbourne Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

498 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    144
    31
    14
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic again”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Visited This restaurant on Saturday night as a birthday treat whilst on a weekend stay in Dublin.
I had been here a couple of years ago and raved about it then, I'm glad to say it is still fantastic.
Friendly energetic staff serving delish French food, good selection of fish and meat dishes with interesting blackboard specials to choose from.
I can definitely say I will revisit this restaurant again.
Ps, the cherry beer is awesome.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Simski75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCM1982, Public Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of La mother Zou in our 20th year. We were delighted to be such a treat for the birthday celebrations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Monday evening supper”
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Venue is nice, elegantly dressed tables and soft lighting.
Had charcuterie plate to share which was well presented and tasty.
The Mussels for main with chips was very generous and well prepared.
Staff and service was excellent, well worth a try!

Helpful?
Thank dinnerguest1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of La mother Zou in our 20th year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
59 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable atmosphere, excellent food!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

This is not the first time we had dinner at La mère Zou and we still look forward to a comfortable evening, friendly service, good quality and tasty food and a good selection of wines to go with it.
This time we went after the theatre and though it was latish in the evening, the place was still alive, which is always a good sign. We enjoyed a Saumon fumé à la betterave and scallops on asparagus, which were both just delicious and perfect starter portions, leaving space for the glorious ribeye steaks which followed.
As it was late, we skipped dessert, but we washed it all down with a an excellent bottle of Beaujolais and went home, bellies full and happy. This place is a safe bet - it is a no brainer when in need of a good dinner (or lunch)!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank petitefraise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCM1982, Public Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review of La mother Zou in our 20th year and for being so loyal!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“5 Star Meal!!”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were exhausted when we touched down in Dublin. So excited that this restaurant was around the corner from our hotel. Down the stairs you are greeted by a pleasant host. The pre theatre dinner was wonderful. Lots of entrees and appetizers to choose from. Each one was delicious. Reasonably priced, quiet, lovely. A real treat!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DCM1982, Public Relations Manager at La Mere Zou, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your wonderful review of La mère Zou in our 20th year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Mere Zou also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing