We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Party Venue”
Review of Fallon & Byrne

Fallon & Byrne
Ranked #141 of 2,559 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$39
Cuisines: Irish, European, Wine Bar, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
County Laois, Ireland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great Party Venue”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We attended a family party here .Its a great venue and the lady in charge was simply the best.
She was comletely on top of everything yet unobtrusive at all times.
She quietly guided the host towards each guest as they arrived ,without any fuss.Tthe canapes on The canapes that kept arriving on the night were delicious.
Everyone agreed it was an excellent large party room . I had never been there before but i will go back to try the restaurant on next trip to Dublin

  • Visited March 2014
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank philjos1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallonandByrne, Manager at Fallon & Byrne, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our Ball room.
We're delighted you enjoyed your evening with us and we hope you return another time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,099 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    499
    385
    141
    45
    29
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
74 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Strange service- disappointing experience”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Three of us dined here during Dine in Dublin 2014 week. We ordered from the Dine in Dublin special menu which wasn't particularly good value at €30. We had 'smoked salmon' (1 of us) and chicken terrine (2 of us) for starters. None of us could eat the starters- in fairness, the issue with the terrine was that we didn't like it so this was personal preference rather than a problem with the food 'Smoked salmon' was tartar which was not stated on the menu and the waitress remarked that other people were also surprised by the starter they received. Two of us had chicken for the main- it was fine, accompanying sauce didn't look or taste appetising- we didn't finish it. The third person in our party had a burger 'cooked through' with cheese on it. The burger was not cooked through and she couldn't eat it- brought this to the attention of a different waitress who apologised and said it should be cooked through. A new burger arrived- it was the original burger further cooked with the cheese scraped off and not replaced. The waitress came back to check on the new burger and apologised for the cheese issue and went off to speak to the chef. Upon her return, she said 'chef was very sorry and would like to offer her the starter which she couldn't eat and a dessert free as a gesture of good will'. Why did they not just offer the main as complimentary? Price would have been roughly the same. The dessert was lovely! Ordered coffees and as soon as they brought them, they asked could they please take the sugar bowl as they needed it elsewhere- odd! Left hungry and thoroughly disappointed. Won't be back!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicolaellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallonandByrne, Manager at Fallon & Byrne, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we would love to discuss your experience further, you can contact us at restaurant@fallonandbyrne.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“€10 corkage???”
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

Booked dinner for 4 on 21st March 2014. Food was good but not spectacular. Service to be fair was excellent. However we were charged €10 corkage for a bottle of wine we bought downstairs! This place has been lauded for its BYO policy in many newspapers etc but this quite frankly is a con and the sort of nonsense you would expect during the Celtic Tiger years. Would not go back for this reason alone!

Helpful?
Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallonandByrne, Manager at Fallon & Byrne, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi Simon,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, apologies for any misunderstandings, we have always charged corkage for off-licence sales from our wine cellar. Thank you for your lovely comments about our service and we do hope you'll try us again some time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leitrim, Ireland
Level Contributor
43 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Pre-Theatre menu”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Ate here recently upstairs and opted for the pre-theatre menu. The choice was very impressive and fantastic value.
We had a terrine and soup for starters which were both tasty, and a burger and plaice for mains which were very hearty portions and delicious.
Service was prompt and attentive, lovely atmosphere and in general a great evening.

I recommend a wee glass of wine or Prosecco in the wine cellar downstairs pre-dinner. Lunch in the deli is also very tasty with plenty of options.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oohbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallonandByrne, Manager at Fallon & Byrne, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi there,
Thank you so much for your lovely review of our restaurant, we're delighted that you enjoyed our pre-theatre menu and we hope you'll be back again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
318 reviews
272 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Slightly disappointing”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

This is not the first time I have eaten here but this visit was a bit of a disappointment. As ever, the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The menu was as good as ever and those dishes that were cooked well, lived up to everyone's expectations. Some dishes, though, were underwhelming. The herb marinated salmon was very good to start but anyone who had the duck risotto was disappointed. Steaks and fish scored highly as mains but the assiette of pork didn't meet expectations. The confit of pork belly was great but the neck was dry and the trotter croquette lacked flavour. Overall a good evening but they have served better food.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank T-G4728
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FallonandByrne, Manager at Fallon & Byrne, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Hi there,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant, we appreciate your feedback and will follow up on your comments. We hope you try us again some time soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fallon & Byrne also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Fallon & Byrne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing