We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Thai food!”

Baan Thai Ballsbridge
Ranked #133 of 2,598 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$30
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Authentic Thai Cuisine, Warm Thai Ambience, and Truly Thai Hospitality.
Vostok
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Nice Thai food!”
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Thanks to Tripadvisor, we found this place. The restaurant is very small so we recommend to reserve a table. The atmosphere is what you expect when you go into a place like this, some might find it a bit too dark, some might find it cozy. The menu gives you a lot of choices for tasty thai food. We can recommend the salt and peper tofu which was extremely good. The staff was nice and professional all the time. All together this is a very nice restaurant.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    181
    117
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Tasty Thai food, but not great value”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Ate here twice in the month of December, and i must say they cook up very good Thai food, better than expected. On both occasions, i ate the Prawn Panag curry and Phad Thai, it was probably the best outside of Bangkok and London. The portions were generous and left me stuffed. The restaurant is small, cosy and the staff are nice. The only negative i would give is that i thought it was rather expensive baring in mind, food, setting and service, but the price of the dishes could be to do with the area in which it's in.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mateen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great food, but slightly cramped restaurant”
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Enjoy the food here and the service is good, but the first time that I went for dinner here was as part of a couple, and I thought that the tables were too close together - we were right next to another couple. However, my second visit was as part of a group of 4 and we had a corner table which was less cramped. Good service and nice food.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sheilawastaken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Probably my favourite food to eat in Dublin”
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

My family and I have been coming to this restaurant for years...we keep coming back because of the quality and consistency of the food.

This is authentic Thai food cooked using only fresh produce.

My only critisim if it could be deemed one, is that it's quite a small restaurant, and the tables are bunched pretty close together. Maybe not the best place to be discussing intimate secrets!

However, while this maybe a problem for some, it's not a big issue for me.

The menu is pretty extensive and in all the years i have been going there, I can never recall having a bad meal.

I want to give 5 stars but that is reserved for perfection, which I have yet to find anywhere! 4.75/5 is more deserving...

Tip I -I advise booking a table Fri-Sun as it can be very busy, especially if there is a sporting event on in the Aviva or RDS. Parking can also be an issue in the area for reasons above.

Tip II - If you like Wan Ton soup, you got try it here as it's the best I have ever tasted.

Helpful?
Thank GW1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Red Roast Duck Curry to die for!!!!!”
Reviewed 26 November 2013

My husband and I happened upon here the first night of our Rugby International weekend trip. Staff very friendly and welcoming- we were first customers of the evening, but restaurant soon filled up with locals and tourists alike. Have to say whether we just struck lucky with our choices but both our starters and main meals were excellent. Must give a special mention to the Red Roast Duck Curry, if you are ever there give it a go - you will not be disappointed!!!!!! All in all a great start to our weekend,a bit like the game as it turned out!!!!!!!!! Will be back if ever in this neck of the woods again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank myrtle c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Baan Thai Ballsbridge also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Baan Thai Ballsbridge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing