We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trendy restuarant”
Review of Venu - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Venu
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Trendy restuarant”
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Nice restuarant in central Dublin.
Good cocktail bar and menu.
Reasonable prices but a little noisy inside.
Good service too.
I have been 2-3 times and would go back again.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N74C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    3
    7
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
106 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Won't be returning”
Reviewed 20 January 2012

The set up of this restaurant is nice i.e. cocktail type bar at the entrance and the restaurant set up to the rear. It's over a year ago since I visited however I wasn't impressed with the service primarily - the food was fine, nothing particularly memorable but it was the service which makes me only score this as average. The starter was barely removed from our table when the main course was delivered - mind you only one of the main courses arrived to the table for two, the other one arrived about 5 minutes later. Again same with the desert the second which had to be returned as it was cold so you can see why I won't be returning.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dublin6Dublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level Contributor
343 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 340 helpful votes
“Quite Surprised”
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Had a dinner at Venu with work colleagues over Christmas. I had never been & never heard of the place before, so I had not real expectations. I assumed it would be the usual "Christmas" service (churn out the food & turn the tables quickly), but I was wrong. The staff were very attentive & the food was fantastic, there was no pressure to move us on after we had had desert & the meal itself was very reasonable. They do great cocktails in the bar. Venu is worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mclaren1Ireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Europe
Level Contributor
33 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Too expensive for what it is - good cocktail barm the rest is average”
Reviewed 3 July 2011

The cocktail bar is good if expensive. The Venue can be tricky to find as it is downstairs off a lane way off another lane way off grafton street in Dublin, The setting is quite nice and the ambeince not bad but it all feels a little pretentious. It's not got enough buzz to pull off the pretention unfortunately. That said it can take a large group of people and has good wines but i dont think i could recommend it to a friend visiting

  • Visited December 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SalmonellaInSAmerica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
51 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Beautiful French Cuisine”
Reviewed 28 June 2011

I have eaten here on numerous occaisions on special occaisions over the last number of years. I tried the early bird menu here in february. It was a reduced menu from a choice point of view. But the dishes were all amazing.

I had foie gras starter, followed by barburay duck and creme brulee. The customer service was excellent and i washed down my dessert with one of their recommended cocktails.

It was a really enjoyable evening. In a very relaxing setting. the first time i ate here i found it strange that the restaurant is based in basement. But the decor is very nice and they have large mirrors around the room to give the impression that it is larger than it really is.

They have a very professional attitude to service and quality of food. They give a lovely selection of homemade breads like tomato, walnut etc. The staff are always extremely friendly as well. Five stars in my books every time. Well done and keep the good work up.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ILOVEHOLIDAYS2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Venu also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing