We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Huge Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Trocadero

Trocadero
Ranked #63 of 2,543 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$30 - US$37
Cuisines: Irish, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: South City Centre
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Huge Disappointment”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

I've just read the first 10 reviews & perhaps we were one of the very few ....but everything about our night was a disappointment. Meant to be a beautiful birthday celebration the evening turned up only dry burned & very expensive offerings! Service was so poor (unless you were sitting near one of the old die hard theatre celebrities). We both so looked forward to what we were told was going to be an 'experience' ...only to leave the table early vowing that we would never put ourselves through another! Honestly .... I'd stay away!

Helpful?
5 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

803 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    461
    234
    64
    35
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere, wonderful food.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

A great place for a birthday party, the Troc is a Dublin institution.
You just never know who might drop in for a bite after appearing in a concert or show,
I've seen Michael Gambon, Alan Rickman, David Walliams,
Gabriel Byrne many times, Francesca Annis; ust to name a few.
Not that it matters, as the food is glorious, escpecially the steak.
And the staff treat you like an old friend, even if you're not.
Wonderful, wonderful place.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

My husband and I walked in last night after a theatre show and had no booking. This was no problem and we taken straight to our table. The choice from the menu was so good we both found it hard to choose. The food was amazing, each course better than the last. The staff were very attentive and polite and looked very smart. The actual restaurant had a fantastic ambience and we felt that we had found a gem!!! We would definitely revisit this restaurant again and again. Worth every penny!!! 10/10 well done Trocadero!

Helpful?
3 Thank donste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballyclare, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
160 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Old School charm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Arrived very early but no problem Soon understood why. The place was packed by 6pm.
Like everyone else we were here for the pre theatre menu. Superb value @ 27 euro each. Wine and drinks of course add on but that's the same anywhere.
You just know this place has been here forever and if you have a problem they will sort it for you.
Food was of course very good but the ambience and surroundings were the overall winner. Service was efficient but patchy when the restaurant became busy.
Can't wait to go back

mpo

mpo

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mpo8000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Big on atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Excellent old Dublin restaurant. Not cheap but big on atmosphere. The waiters look like they have been there for a 100 years

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonio136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Trocadero also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Trocadero? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing