We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Asian dining experience for the whole family”
Review of Chai Yo

Chai Yo
Ranked #243 of 2,558 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$17 - US$29
Cuisines: Chinese, Japanese, Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Chai yo is split into two sections, upstairs we have three teppanyaki (hibachi) tables where the chef entertains and cooks in front of you. Down stairs we have the more conventional restaurant sitting. We serve a variety of asian cuisines such as teppanyaki, sushi, thai curries and chinese food. We love to cater for large groups at the teppanyaki tables where we can accomodate up to 40 ppl on the three tables. Dont forget every night we have singers and a guitarist to help you celebrate that perfect night.
Bilbao, Spain
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great Asian dining experience for the whole family”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

After many months in Europe we were missing Asian food dreadfully and while I'm usually suspicious of restaurants that offer food from many different cuisines, this restaurant was a great find. We asked for a quiet table and the waiters were happy to oblige. The food was plentiful and fresh and all the traditional dishes were absolutely delicious. The waiters not only provided great service but the serenade we received at the end of the night was a lovely surprise. What a voice! A great fun night out for the whole family with something to suit everyone's taste!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JJML2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    163
    72
    16
    9
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
46 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Superb evening out in Dublin”
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

I went as a party of 5 to this restaurant to celebrate one of the groups 60th birthday. What a wonderful welcoming restaurant. The service was excellent and the food, delicious. Will definitely be back

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marge L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice Food and Staff”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Our daughter who my wife and I were visiting booked this restaurant. It will not disappoint. Nice food but even nicer staff. We all went for the 4 course meal which was 17 euros each. Food was to a high standard. Staff do a bit of entertaining during the night which was great. They found out during the meal(Thanks Samantha!) that it was my birthday. Two of the staff came to my table with cake and a guitar and sang me happy birthday, in a very unusual way. They also sang a further song and the female waitress had an incredible voice,as did the male who I later heard singing at another table.
Upstairs the chefs fantastic 'party tricks' when preparing food on the hot plate for guests was nothing short of amazing.
Toilets were clean which I always think is a good sign of general hygiene throughout the restaurant.
This restaurant is well worth a visit and the prices are reasonable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nigelstockdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Perfect venue for group events!”
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Eating in Chai Yo is a unique experience: there's a show on the tepanyaki before the food is served and a group of great musicians right after. The food is fresh and tasty (we had the fillet).Strongly recommended for group events and special occasions!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Artemis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
148 reviews
86 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great Food,Great service, Great Music and Fun”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

12 of us ate here midweek.
For a lot of us this was our first experience of a Teppanyaki restaurant.
Windy, our chef was a great cook and great fun.
The food was perfectly cooked and very fresh.
We had steak,scallops,prawns, duck, chicken and fish.
This was served with egg fried rice,potatoes and veg.
After the food a brilliant group of singers, guitarist and drummer entertained us.
This was one of our best team nights out - quite unforgettable

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sharon w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chai Yo also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Chai Yo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing