We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location just outside the city in a village...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Rugby Lodge

Patio area to rear of house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Patio area to rear of house
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
Patio area to rear of house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Dublin, County Dublin

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
tbar91433...
Cheshire, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location just outside the city in a village with everything you need.”
Reviewed 30 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The house is located on a quiet street within a 10 minute walk to a variety of good quality restaurants and grocery stores. An active cab stand is in the same area. We had a group of 4. The house itself was clean and updated with the appliances necessary to facilitate family breakfasts, "happy hours", dinners etc.. We spent 6 days in Ireland. Two days in Dublin (15 minute 13 E cab ride to the city center) and 4 days on private tours (curb side pickup) to various sites at different points of the compass. Renelagh is a vibrant small town. Rugby Lodge was a comfortable place to unwind at the end of some very busy days.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoveTrave...
1 review
“Charming updated house, close to lively village, and not too far from city center.”
Reviewed 17 June 2018 for a stay in June 2018

We loved staying in this cottage. It was tastefully decorated and felt quite spacious. 6 adults was not too many. We loved the Ikea furnishings throughout, including the kitchen tiles. The carpet on the stairs was especially cheerful. All the fixtures and the bathrooms seemed new, and everything worked wonderfully. As American's the only thing that was a puzzle was the washer dryer, (not so self explanatory.) A more step by step explanation would have been nice:)
Also, I feel bad that we didn't understand about the garbage pick-up schedule (or what time the garbage should be put out) until too late. And we didn't even try to open the side gate, as that was not discussed. These are very small issues compared to the overall experience.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jun 2018
Hi Eliza. Delighted you enjoyed your stay. Will take your comments on board. Until the next time!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark G
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at the Rugby Lodge!”
Reviewed 3 April 2018 for a stay in March 2018

Our family recently stayed at the Rugby Lodge & absolutely loved it! What a wonderful area of Ranelagh in a quiet village near the city center of Dublin. Very quick cab/bus ride, but we opted to walk (15-20 min.) The mornings I would walk 5 minutes to Ranelagh center for bakery goods. The accommodations were clean, comfortable & perfect for our family of 5. Would absolutely recommend for anyone looking for a great stay in Dublin!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Apr 2018
Delighted you enjoyed your stay. The village of Ranelagh really is a good location for a Dublin visit, being close enough to the city yet offering a local community feel also.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gill1847
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“great accommodation”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

The house was great, spacious and well equipped. It was 20 mins walk into Dublin centre which was fine for us but there is also plenty to do in the immediate area.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LindaB823...
2 reviews
“Great for our family vacation”
Reviewed 19 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Rugby Lodge had everything we needed to kick off our family vacation. From the rooms to the kitchen to the proximity to grocery shopping, restaurants for breakfast and dinner. We also had a great time cooking breakfast and dinner at Rugby lodge. Parking was so convenient. Hope to stay there again on a future trip.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 May 2017
Hi Linda,

Delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Regards,
Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tckhewsk
Port of Spain, Trinidad
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quiet, beautifully maintained, centrally located house”
Reviewed 15 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Ranelagh village is one of the best spots in Dublin, with Rugby lodge mere minutes away in a quiet residentialarea. Situated a stones throw from fabulous restaurants, the Grand Canal and Stephens Green, an easy stroll down Camden St or a hop on the Luas and you're at the heart of the city centre within 15 minutes. The house was warm as toast during a mighty cold week in Dublin. Bright, airy, clean and fantastically well equipped, with a quality kitchen! As for Ian and Laura, they are lovely to deal with, very easygoing and really friendly. We have already recommended the house to friends and would definitely visit ourselves again. Thank you so much for a lovely house and a fine Irish welcome!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katiegbpt
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Awesome house”
Reviewed 11 December 2016 for a stay in November 2016

This house was perfect for our stay, the kitchen was probably the best equipped we have ever found in a rental.
The location was good for local restaurants but a short train ride into the center.
I would highly recommend a Rugby Lodge.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design and equipment
Liked least: Heating took a long time to heat up, it was a cold spell in Dublin!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Dec 2016
Delighted you enjoyed Rugby Lodge. We aim to please!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing