We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner”
Review of Cactus Jacks

Cactus Jacks
Ranked #521 of 2,560 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$25 - US$49
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Drogheda
Level Contributor
58 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Dinner”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

We have been to this restaurant quite a few times but our last visit was very disappointing the service was terrible two different couples that came in separately about fifteen to twenty minutes after us and ordered there food after us got there food before we did, the fact that we had three different waitress did not help, the couple sitting next to us where brought down the wrong starter, the food was just ok, the restaurant was very busy and the staff could not seem to cope, so hopefully the next time I go (if I go back) the service will have improved

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joedunne, Owner at Cactus Jacks, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Hi Karen

I am so sorry your visit was not good and I will look into it and ensure it does not happen again, can you tell me the date you were here so I can pinpoint the staff who where working that day. Thank you for your comments

Joe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

384 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    147
    64
    37
    26
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Cracking”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

I'm no foodie admittedly but really is great value, food was excellent, plenty of it and wonderfully friendly staff, watch the world go by, great place I thought.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joedunne, Owner at Cactus Jacks, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
That's great to hear - thank you so much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newark, New Jersey
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I think this place is pretty awesome. Good food (Mexican my favourite), good service and nice atmosphere. I will be back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Toni C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joedunne, Owner at Cactus Jacks, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
im so happy you enjoyed your visit - thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
376 reviews
292 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Can't fault it”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Had lunch here today with a grabone voucher. The food was delicious. The prawns in the fajitas were huge and plentiful and the flavour was delicious. The burger was yummy and the chips were the best we have had in Dublin. We often pass and see the restaurant is quite busy. Glad we tried it today. We will be back.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank simongb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joedunne, Owner at Cactus Jacks, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you so much for your lovely comments and hope to see you again very soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not very tasty”
Reviewed 27 April 2014

Lunch menu almost any main course for 10 Euro
I had the chicken FAJITAS and it was way to spicy.
There was no indication whether the meal is mild or spicy
The chicken didn't taste like anything, it was just hot.
I should have gone with a chicken burger.
The service was very friendly, but that didn't make up
for a meal that I did not enjoy at all.
The usual price for 3 very small Fajitas is 15 Euro.
I don't think I will be coming back again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MickeyJames
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cactus Jacks also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Cactus Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing