We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Friday”
Review of TGI Friday's

TGI Friday's
Ranked #2,009 of 2,573 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: US$22 - US$30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Average Friday”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Atmosphere was ok, staff where polite but understaffed & under pressure. Venue was nice. But food was just average...

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley2239
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    40
    31
    45
    46
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Burger Blues!”
Reviewed 18 September 2013

On returning from a break away we were looking for a casual late lunch which wouldn't cost the earth. TGI's seemed just the place to go as we were in the Dundrum centre and had reasonably good memories of eating there when we were somewhat younger than we are now. Unfortunately things change; whether it's us or the restaurant is hard to say but either way the experience was one we would not want to repeat.

It started badly when we were seated by an impatient manager who inexplically placed us in the furthest chilly corner of the mostly empty space. Any lighthearted interaction was out of the question as our order was taken by a waitress whose pursed lips invited to feel we were keeping her from a much more important chore. While we waited for our food we had a good chance to examine our surroundings and the half dozen fellow diners. Behind us was a middle aged couple of large disposition who were furiously posting food down their throats. The wife somehow managed to keep up a loud and slightly beligerant conversation on her mobile as she did so. The large quantity of drinks she was consuming may have lubricated the proceedings. No sooner would she finish one call that a new one would start up. The husband just kept posting. By the time we left we would have a passable knowledge of their family life!

On arrival the food was plentiful but not particularly tasty or well presented. What once would have been a seared barbecue style treat was now just a humdrum collection of food built down to a price which we gamely worked on while shifting uncomfortably on the hard wooden chairs. Overall it was disappointing. By now a new irritation had established itself nearby. Two young ladies in the gloomy interior who had been having a lunch solely of the liquid variety began the first of umpteen treks in and out of the door adjacent to our corner so they could have their smokes on the balcony. We didnt stay for coffee.

So maybe I've grown grumpy since TGI's was a passable venue, maybe they've lost their mojo. Either way if you want your lunchtime food to be of good quality in pleasant surroundings I could only recommend that you keep searching.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AchillHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
148 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 19 August 2013 via mobile

They changed their set menu by taking off a number of options and also increasing the price. The selection is now very small and expensive.

The main menu is quite expensive and the service is a little slow.

Overall it's worth a visit but not the first place I would go to dine.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DieselIE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Celbridge, Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Total dissapointment”
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Arrived on Friday night with my husband (had 50 minutes before planned cinema trip). The place was very quiet. Waited for 16 minutes before order was taken - and had to actually call the waiter. Ordered starter and main course each and did ask to bring food as soon as it's ready explaining that we have to be out of here in 30 minutes. Waited for 25 minutes for food to arrive, at that stage we were almost ready to leave. Both starters and main course were served together. Had to wolf down all food trying to make it in time for the movie. Didn't make it though :-( as afterwards it took a good few minutes to pay. Quite a dissapointing experience as it wasn't the first time we've been there and at much busier times. Food was quite tasty, as usual. And we were only charged for one meal at the end. But the night was badly spoiled :-(

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Oksana1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youghal, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good food but on the expensive side”
Reviewed 3 June 2013

Good food, fast service, children friendly but a little bit expensive for a family with a few children

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanetTigger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed TGI Friday's also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dundrum, County Dublin
 
Clondalkin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to TGI Friday's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing