We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Dublin,”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ferryman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferryman Hotel
Ranked #95 of 153 Hotels in Dublin
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Dublin,”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2013

My family stayed 2 nights at the Ferryman Hotel in Dublin, Ireland. We had 2 rooms and both were very clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel was WONDERFUL and went out of their way to help us (especially with parking!!). Delicious Irish breakfast in the morning and the breakfast room is beautiful. I would recommend this hotel for future visits to Ireland. We took a taxi over to Dublin city center (Kilmainham gaol, Guinness Storehouse, Temple Bar), buses are also available.

Room Tip: We had a great view overlooking the river, but it was a little loud the first night due to an unexpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 767traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    71
    23
    8
    12
See reviews for
19
59
23
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

Excellent, we stayed for the Celtic game. Beautifully appointed rooms overlooking the Liffey, an excellent Irish brekkie and a fine selection of Irish whiskies, even when the bar was busy, which was most of the time ther was no problem getting served, cheers to Con and all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steeton
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2013

we chose the ferryman because it s close to the o2 we had a great time lovely clean room over looking the river liffey great breakfast and very friendley staff close to center 10 mins walk will be back soon as we had such a good laugh

Room Tip: there all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballymena n . ireland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here on 16 - 18 July 13 . We were going to O2 arena , and the location of the Ferryman was ideal( could see it from our room window), and it is also a short walking distance from Connolly St. station . Our bedroom was at the front overlooking the Liffey, and generally a lovely view of many of Dublins buildings .All accommodation and staff was first class, everything clean and tidy, and breakfast was basic but very ample and good. Very convenient to bus services and the city centre .
Beds were very comfortable, and staff were very good at allowing us to leave luggage both on arrival and leaving at hotel outside normal check in/out times.
Overall a very enjoyable stay , and although it may not be as luxurious as many other
hotels , it is great value for money , and I certainly would not hesitate on staying here again . Thanks

Room Tip: Front rooms have a great view of liffey , and business of Dublin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcksj752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

Having tickets to see Michael Buble at the O2, we wanted somewhere to stay within walking distance of the venue. We couldn't believe the price of The Ferryman and hadn't great expectations, but as this was only an overnight stay we decided to book.

How wrong could we be? The Ferryman is a lovely Irish pub with rooms above. Our room was extremely well furnished overlooking the river Liffy. Bernadette, the owner's wife, should take up interior design as the recently refurbished breakfast / function room was plushly decorated in excellent taste and a pleasure to breakfast in.

A walk into Dublin City Centre takes approximately 10 / 15 minutes. Staff secured our bags on check-out to allow us some shopping time before our bus journey home. Altogether a gem of a find and great value for money.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ave3128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2013

We've been to Dublin numerous times and have stayed at other more expensive and centrally located hotels, but this worked great for us. A good budget hotel above a typical pub as previously mentioned. Tom, the manager, is a real salesman with lots of personality and desire to please. We used Booking.com, but they had no reservation when we arrived. Tom kindly put us in a big room on the river on the 5th floor which was great. The bed was super comfortable and uses a duvet (not a top sheet) as usual in Europe. He suggested a fun place for pub food for dinner, The Bank on Dame Street, which we enjoyed. The Irish breakfast was super. The pub does a big lunch business as there are many offices around. The food then is spectacular. We will stay here again as the value for the money is really good.

Room Tip: Be sure you get the key code for the hotel door in case you want to get in when the pub is not open...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thacher28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2013

A lot more character than the average budget hotel! Just opposite the conference centre above a typical Irish pub. The rooms were small, but very clean and with all the expected essentials. Breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ewan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Pearse Street
1.2 mi away
Kilronan House
Kilronan House
#39 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 853 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Wynn's Hotel
Wynn's Hotel
#36 of 153 in Dublin
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,126 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Spencer Hotel Dublin IFSC
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Dublin Custom House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferryman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryman Hotel

Property: Ferryman Hotel
Address: 35 sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferryman Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Ferryman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferryman Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing