We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Authentic Family-Run Dublin Hotel”
Review of Ferryman Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Ferryman Hotel
Ranked #95 of 151 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Burnie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic Family-Run Dublin Hotel”
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We are Australian visitors.
We had a few drinks at O'Brien's Ferryman in 2010, and stayed there in 2012 and 2013. This establishment dates from 1780.
Clean, warm accommodation. Fantastic views from rooms.
This is a genuine Irish pub overlooking the Liffey River, and about 10 or 15 minutes walking time from the heart of Dublin. Lovely staff and great breakfasts. Lively bar. Guinness is as it should be - perfect. Check out the signs on the doors of the bar toilets (down the stairs) - you are sure to photograph them.
Strongly recommended. We shall return.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the Liffey River.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wearyandsick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    72
    24
    8
    12
See reviews for
19
60
24
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I picked the Ferryman after reading previous reviews and was not disappointed. The hotel is far enough out the city to avoid the the hussle and bussle but near enough to easily walk in and out the City a couple of times a day. My room was spacious and overlooked the river, convention center and Samuel Beckett bridge which was fantastic but did mean that the noise of the brewery delivery at 6.30am was a bit of a shock! If you don't mind the interuption then do ask for a room on the front. The breakfast was hearty and a proper Irish affair (full irish breakfast and not a croissant insight!!)
If you are coming from the airport then catch the Airlink bus which drops off outside the convention centre and requires a 2 min walk over the bridge. A bargain at 10Euros return.
I found everyone in Dublin really nice and friendly and the staff at the Ferryman were no exception. I highly recommend you stay here on a visit to Dublin's fair city.

Room Tip: Chose sleep quality or view. The rooms at the front have a fantastic view but can have a bit of nois...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarrieBoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 22 August 2013

What a great place! I was fortunate enough to stay here on the 17th of August 2013 and couldn't be happier of the experience. The staff were warm and friendly both when serving behind the bar and checking us in to our room. The room was comfortable with a great view of the Liffey and though the shower was basic it had plenty of warm water,was very clean and had great water pressure.
The breakfast was served in the most delightful surroundings, I have really never seen a room quite so fabulously decorated and all for under €100 including breakfast for 2 of us just a stroll or short bus ride into town! I almost feel like i shouldn't write this review in case it becomes too popular and I struggle to get a room there again.
I will always be staying here when I am in Dublin, cheers guys loved it

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank craigs745
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2013

My family stayed 2 nights at the Ferryman Hotel in Dublin, Ireland. We had 2 rooms and both were very clean and comfortable. The staff at the hotel was WONDERFUL and went out of their way to help us (especially with parking!!). Delicious Irish breakfast in the morning and the breakfast room is beautiful. I would recommend this hotel for future visits to Ireland. We took a taxi over to Dublin city center (Kilmainham gaol, Guinness Storehouse, Temple Bar), buses are also available.

Room Tip: We had a great view overlooking the river, but it was a little loud the first night due to an unexpe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 767traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Excellent, we stayed for the Celtic game. Beautifully appointed rooms overlooking the Liffey, an excellent Irish brekkie and a fine selection of Irish whiskies, even when the bar was busy, which was most of the time ther was no problem getting served, cheers to Con and all the staff.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steeton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

we chose the ferryman because it s close to the o2 we had a great time lovely clean room over looking the river liffey great breakfast and very friendley staff close to center 10 mins walk will be back soon as we had such a good laugh

Room Tip: there all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank john p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ballymena n . ireland
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here on 16 - 18 July 13 . We were going to O2 arena , and the location of the Ferryman was ideal( could see it from our room window), and it is also a short walking distance from Connolly St. station . Our bedroom was at the front overlooking the Liffey, and generally a lovely view of many of Dublins buildings .All accommodation and staff was first class, everything clean and tidy, and breakfast was basic but very ample and good. Very convenient to bus services and the city centre .
Beds were very comfortable, and staff were very good at allowing us to leave luggage both on arrival and leaving at hotel outside normal check in/out times.
Overall a very enjoyable stay , and although it may not be as luxurious as many other
hotels , it is great value for money , and I certainly would not hesitate on staying here again . Thanks

Room Tip: Front rooms have a great view of liffey , and business of Dublin
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcksj752
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dublin hotels
0.2 mi away
Maldron Hotel Pearse Street
0.1 mi away
Clayton Hotel Cardiff Lane
0.8 mi away
Wynn's Hotel
Wynn's Hotel
#38 of 151 in Dublin
1,173 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Dergvale Hotel
Dergvale Hotel
#75 of 151 in Dublin
357 reviews
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Dublin City Centre
0.6 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 151 in Dublin
1,675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferryman Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferryman Hotel

Property: Ferryman Hotel
Address: 35 sir John Rogerson's Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Ferryman Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Ferryman Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferryman Hotel Dublin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing