We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Owners make the difference”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Dun Laoghaire B&B and Inns
Oxnard, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Owners make the difference”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed here for six nights. Breakfast was great ,and Pauline even packed us breakfast when we had to catch a very early bus. Since we were there when it was unusually warm, we kept the windows open. Our room overlooked the street, and it was noisy at night when the pubs closed and also with buses.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    21
    6
    0
    2
See reviews for
31
31
6
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed at Ferry House for two nights in August 2013 - partly so we could spend some time in Dun Laoghaire, partly so we could see Aston Villa play Shamrock Rovers in a pre-season friendly. We were two couples with three young children between us.

Access from the ferry is very easy - we just walked off the ferry and were there in a few minutes. The building is at the end of a cul-de-sac so there wasn't really a problem with passing traffic. There is a nice park a few minutes' walk away and they have a market there every so often. Ferry House is near to one end of the high street so that was quite useful too.

The couple that run the place are very friendly and make you feel welcome. They are very family friendly and the baby equipment they had (travel cot, high chair etc) was in great condition. There are a number of steps up to the property from the street, but we managed with a pushchair and the owners volunteered to help too. Accommodation was of a good standard and the breakfast was excellent. Although we were at the front of the house and the place was full, we didn't hear any noise from the other rooms or the street outside. Overall a great stay. We would happily return.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

I recently stayed here with my family. We stayed in a family room which was quite big with an ensuite. The b and b is close to shops and the seaside and the dart to Dublin. Pauline and Eamoan were the perfect hosts and very helpful. Would definitely recommend and we will be back!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati, USA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013

I loved this place when I visited 10 years ago. This time, it wasn't nearly as good. It was dirty and poorly maintained. The owners were nice enough. The location is outstanding though, right next to the rail line and across from a park. There's also a laundromat right down the street, which was convenient.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank quailroberts T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2013

A great place to stay easy access to buses and train station.food was very nice and cooked fresh every morning and always on time.Great location for shops,beach,pubs and restaurants . Lots to do for everyone including children. The owners and their son made me and my family feel very welcome and at home even catering for my small child of 23 months providing toys to keep him entertained.rooms kept spotless clean towels and linens every day . Highly recommended the best b&b we have stayed at so much so that we have penciled our names in for next year .vicki,Simon,Freddie,Pauline and terry

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sivic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kansas city, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

With 6 travelers in our family, it was sometimes difficult to find a place to stay. We stayed at the Ferry House May 18-20, 2013. Pauline was very accommodating in giving us 2 large rooms with 3 beds in each room. Comfortable beds, hot showers, quiet streets made this a very good choice for our first three nights in Ireland. A full Irish breakfast was offered each morning and the one day we had an early departure tour, Pauline had fresh fruit, cereal and juice for us and was delighted that we took advantage of it.
Local eating establishments were recommended, the DART was very close and the Air Coach Bus took us to the airport from just down the street.
Ireland is full of friendly people, but we felt Pauline and Eamon were the BEST!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank joecuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 September 2012

We stayed at Ferry House while attending the Mountains to Sea Literary Festival this year, and we were so pleased. The rooms were large and comfortable, the breakfasts excellent, but best of all Eamon and Pauline were so warm and helpful--a little bit of Cork in the Greater Dublin area.
If you come on a Saturday there is a fabulous outdoor artisan food market just a block away, and one block further is Teddy's Ice Cream, established in 1950 and dazzlingly evoked in Hugo Hamilton's novel Hand in the Fire. Leave time to walk to the end of the pier in Dun Laoghaire--lovely views.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Ted29Galway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,962 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
3.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Windsor Lodge B&B
Windsor Lodge B&B
#2 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Clarinda Park North | Dun Laoghaire, Dun Laoghaire Co. Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the time you arrive, Pauline and Eamon will make every effort to ensure that your stay is relaxing and comfortable in their family home. The Ferry House B&B is a Victorian home build in 1860 and is Bord Failte (Irish Tourist Board)approved. The Ferry house is situated in Clarinda Park North in the stunning Harbour town of Dun Laoghaire and is only a few minutes walk from the many local amenities, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Ferry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferry House b&b
Ferry House Hotel
Ferry House Bed And Breakfast Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing