We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 20 Dun Laoghaire B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice place!”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We spent 5 nights here and we loved it! Pauline's breakfast is superb! Great hostess. We had endless conversation even though our English is rather basic haha. Rooms were comfortable but a bit chilly. We'd definitely recommend this place!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank myadesignstudio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    22
    6
    1
    2
See reviews for
34
32
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Biding adieu to the bustling crowd of Dublin-town, we boarded DART (Dublin Area Rapid Transit), the suburban electric train service operating between Howth and Greystones, for the 20 minute ride into Dun Laoghaire (pronounced Dun Leary). We would be spending three nights at Pauline and EamonTeehan's Ferry House B and B and welcomed the east coast seaside town's fresh cooling breezes which provided some respite from the sweltering heatwave we had encountered in the city. Perhaps assisted by the ferris wheels all a whirl along Dublin Bay's shore, it felt as if it were five degrees cooler.

Taking its name from Laoghaire, a 5th century High King of Tara who had established a great "Dun" (stone fort) there to ward off Roman invasions from Britain's shore, the resort town is known for its magnificent harbor, Victorian amusement park and gardens, shopping, restaurants, bands, pavilions, and pier. One can walk down the "Prom" to Sandy Cove's James Joyce Martello Tower, named for the author who had visited there and which he immortalized in the opening chapters of his "Ulysses," whose breakfast scene took place in the tower's upstairs room. The Martello Museum is now filled with James Joyce 1st editions, letters, photos, his death mask, piano, and guitar.

Disembarking at the Sandy Cove DART station, visitors arriving by train are told to turn left upon exiting the station; the Ferry House is a five minute walk from the DART station. If arriving by car, guests should be forewarned that there is no on-site parking. A metered parking lot is conveniently located across from the B and B with rates of 6 Euros/24 hours; street parking is 1 Euro/hour.

We were met at the Ferry House B and B's door by a large amiable former rugby, football, hurling athlete--Eamon Teehan, the proprietor, who welcomed us cordially and then guided us up the staircase to find our two rooms. The 1860 Victorian boasted high ceilings trimmed with white decorative trim. Its large open windows reached up to the ceiling filling the room with sunshine and soft sea breezes. Clean comfortable furnishings and a tiny en suite bathroom, with sink and shower stall whose hot water controls were located outside the bathroom, completed the room.

Eamon plopped his large frame down on one of the pretty wicker chairs placed in our room's bay window and proceeded to give us the lay of the land--the town's top rated restaurants, pubs, and sights. When we told him that we would be celebrating our son's birthday at a Gaelic football game at Croke Park the next day, he became even more enthused and said that he was hoping to go to the game, as well. Instead of taking the trains and buses to "the Croker," he would be very pleased to drive us there in his personal car. How's that for Irish hospitality?

Pauline, Eamon's wife, joined us and bantered non-stop about every subject--but in a welcoming way. When I asked about a public laundromat, she replied that we had arrived too late in the day to use the town's establishment, but if I brought our clothes downstairs she would see that they were washed and hung up on her covered outdoors clothesline. How's that for Irish hospitality?

Breakfast menus were left for us to fill out by our rooms' coffee and tea service (I discovered Ireland's finest tea--Barry's--at the Ferry House--it is quite satisfying) and, after placing them on the table near the kitchen downstairs, we attempted to have a good night's sleep. Unfortunately, our lovely bay window was right above a bus stop, and many merry folk below giggled throughout the night causing us to have a less than perfect sleep. Thank goodness for Barry's Irish tea--it would keep me going in the morning.

In the breakfast room, our son was treated to a chorus of "Happy Birthday" by Pauline, who is quite comfortable center stage having met Eamon on the set of "Oklahoma!" in their youth, the two of them capturing the leads in the dream ballet. Rugby/footballers/ hurlers are light on their feet, Pauline told us.

Pauline used her special "Fairy Cakes" bowl for my specially-ordered and prepared Irish porridge. I sure wanted to bring that home for a souvenir. Eamon said that he was leaving around noon for the Leinster Gaelic Athletic Association's senior football championship final, Dublin versus Meath, and was looking forward to transporting us there. The Irish hospitality continued and continued.

En route to Croke Park, Eamon served as an excellent tour guide familiarizing us to the neighborhood. He was such a spirited fellow wearing his blues and whites supporting the Dublin footballers and also a cap from Cork, whose hurlers were in a championship match beginning at 4. His enthusiasm was infectious--we couldn't wait to get our hands on some Dublin football jerseys, caps, and flags. Before no time at all we found a shop which decked us out like all the Dublinites and there was no one in the stadium yelling more ferociously for Dublin than our family. Maybe that's why they won!

We spent the next few days beginning with a nice breakfast at the Ferry House and then taking the DART into Dublin to see all the sights--Trinity College and the Book of Kells, the shopping, buskers, and cafes on Grafton Street, Dublin Castle, the General Post Office, Temple Bar, and dining at amazing restaurants including Gallagher's Traditional Boxty House in Temple Bar, the Queen of Tarts across from Dublin Castle, Bewleys Cafe on Grafton Street, and Banyi's Japanese restaurant in Temple Bar. Great international cuisine served with amazing Irish hospitality.

In order to catch our 11:00 a.m. flight back to the States, Pauline suggested that she call and reserve her friend "Tom the taxi driver" to make sure we got to the airport in time. His fare was comparable to the airport shuttle, she said, and he would to drive us straight to the airport's door promising more entertaining Irish stories, neighborhood narration, and a bit of banter, that we had come to love from the Dun Laoghaire folks.

On departure day, Pauline came down to the breakfast room at 6:30 a.m. dressed in her robe and fuzzy slippers and made us a simple continental breakfast--tea and toast, cold cereals, yogurts, and fruit. We figured out the bill--she would have preferred that we pay in cash so that she wouldn't have to incur the credit card fees but, because we didn't know beforehand about her preference for payment, she accepted our credit card payment. How's that for Irish hospitality?

When I asked my family about their favorite places to stay on our 12 day holiday in the Emerald Isle, how could they not say what a super time they had had at the Ferry House B and B? Eamon and Pauline made us feel like we were a part of their family. From Eamon's orientation chat in the bay window of our lovely room to our last breakfast prepared by Pauline in her fuzzy slippers, we will never forget the many kindnesses and comforts bestowed upon our family at the Ferry House B and B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Susan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We loved our stay! This was so great! Pauline and her husband really do make you feel part of their family. They are such lovely people! Breakfast was excellent! It is so clean and spacious. A great location in a great town! We would definitely stay there again! Thank you Joan!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jojoots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cameron park, ca.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Ferry House. Pauline and her family make you feel as if you are indeed part of the family!! We had a quiet and comfortable room. Breakfast was very good and we were offered several choices. Wonderful, comfortable, welcoming place!!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fish555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013 via mobile

This B&B was a good value. It was located near a train for easy access to downtown Dublin. There a good restaurants in the area; offering specials for a more reasonable dinner. The B&B's breakfasts were delicious and there was flexibility in what you could have. A drawback was having to pay for street parking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scooper1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
104 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Spent a very comfortable night in Ferry House recently after attending a wedding in Dun Laoghaire. Very comfortable room overlooking the street. Good breakfast - freshly cooked - served with a smile. Parking available across the road at a cheap rate.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tereva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Claremorris
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2013

On our most recent visit to Ferry House we were met with the same friendly, sincere welcome as we experienced on our first stay there. Accommodation was the essence of comfort, warmth, cleanliness, homeliness and spaciousness. Food was delicious, wholesome, tasty and plentiful .
The most striking feature is the happy and caring
atmosphere that is brought about by Pauline ,Eamonn and Ronan. They are very good--humoured and take the time to make you aware of locations to eat and of available public transport.
Again we were charmed at the convenience of the location ----so adjacent to bus stop and dart station ----equally central to city centre or Wicklow.
We genuinely look forward to our next visit and to that wholesome breakfast ----Pauline's speciality!!!!!!!
.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ellen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.3 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,017 reviews
0.2 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
352 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
3.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,561 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lynden Bed & Breakfast
Lynden Bed & Breakfast
#3 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ferry House Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ferry House Bed and Breakfast

Property: Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Address: 15 Clarinda Park North | Dun Laoghaire, Dun Laoghaire Co. Dublin, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
From the time you arrive, Pauline and Eamon will make every effort to ensure that your stay is relaxing and comfortable in their family home. The Ferry House B&B is a Victorian home build in 1860 and is Bord Failte (Irish Tourist Board)approved. The Ferry house is situated in Clarinda Park North in the stunning Harbour town of Dun Laoghaire and is only a few minutes walk from the many local amenities, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ferry House Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ferry House b&b
Ferry House Hotel
Ferry House Bed And Breakfast Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing