We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”
Review of Haddington House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Haddington House
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I was a bit worried having stayed in hotels before in the south but my goodness this changed my view the hotel was beautiful set back of the road with views over the pier an sea with easy access to and from the dart 2 mins walk to local town market and 5 mins from town centre the staff were amazing the receptionist Sinead was really helpful and just lovely.

Breakfast was lovely sitting over looking the sea and the busy pier was just beautiful great selection of food on offer all of a high standard.

Room was small but very clean.

Beautiful walks all around town and plenty of information available at the reception area.

Great place to stay and I will be back

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Karenann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

232 - 238 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Tired decor, mediocre breakfast, great location. The Kingston needs a face lift. It has beautiful views of the sea, pier and ferry from the restaurant. Free parking! But it's a tad shabby with old fashioned furniture. Could be so great, but needs investment. Our room was on floor 5, and quiet, but the bathroom had cracked tiles & grimy taps.
This hotel is ok for a hasty overnight but it's not for romantic nights away.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Ladybird43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2014

I had to cancel my weekend at this hotel at the last minute due to ill health and the staff were more than helpful and understanding when I called them. They refunded the deposit which they weren't obliged to do and I am very grateful to them.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Petra D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I had the occasion to stay here on Thursday 13th. I requested a sea view which was granted and the views were spectacular but that is where it ends. We arrived about 6pm to an empty reception desk with the back office door wide open and a clearly disorganised office with shoes and all sorts just thrown around the place. Hotel bar non existent seems to be more of a separate restaurant with bar which could be leased out. However I do have to say the breakfast staff were excellent and it was good. We also dined in the restaurant and found the food amazing. Pizzas were amazing as was the pasta. Would definitely go back to the restaurant. Whilst the room was great the hotel is in need of some TLC.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Perie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

This hotel is just awful. The staff are ignorant and rude. The bar is non existent its just a couple of stools and hard chairs and that's it. The bar staff in particular were shockingly bad and terribly rude.The breakfast was just terrible very little selection. The bar staff only cater for people having meals and people they know . Its not a friendly and welcoming hotel the staff make you feel very unwelcome and uneasy. Not a place to go.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank TheCronins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013 via mobile

Unfortunately while the hotel is well situated, the staff are overall unhelpful and borderline rude. Rooms are small and pokey, especially when there are already people in them. Even though the price seemed reasonable, it was actually quite high for what we received - not even willing to part with a cold jug of milk for tea in the morning. Not in a rush back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank PeadardeB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I was there for a wedding and thought it was great.

Good staff, nice location, worth paying the extra for the sea views, great restaurant (Olivetos), near the pier which is good for a Teddy's ice cream, a bit more character/more intimate than the Royal Marine which is a bit corporate and shiny for my liking - with its chandeliers etc

Mr Peter

Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
Thank Pedrog76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,201 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.6 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#3 of 150 in Dublin
4,248 reviews
5.5 mi away
Grand Canal Hotel
Grand Canal Hotel
#39 of 150 in Dublin
1,812 reviews
3 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haddington House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haddington House

Address: 9-12 Haddington Terrace, Dun Laoghaire A96 F2R9, Ireland (Formerly The Haddington)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: £64 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Haddington House 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront in Dun Laoghaire, Haddington House has panoramic views of Dublin Bay. Originally four Victorian townhouses the hotel began its life as Haddington House, a finishing school for girls, before being converted into a hotel in the 1950s. We are continuing to develop the hotel property but in keeping with the unique heritage of the building. Our fifty en suite bedrooms have flat screen multi-channel TV's, free WiFi, Nespresso coffee machines, digital radios, hair dryers and filtered still and sparkling water. Our newer 'Classic' and 'Deluxe' rooms also come with an in-room safe, a mini fridge stocked with fresh milk, as well as a complimentary Irish Times. Most of the rooms in these categories also have spectacular sea views. Oliveto, the award-winning restaurant with views of the sea, serves Italian-inspired fare and is extremely popular so booking is highly recommended. There's also two unique events spaces: The Library Bar and Oak Room, a lobby bar and a buzzy garden overlooking the sea complete with a Hut Bar. The location is hard to beat with Dun Laoghaire DART station just a 5-minute walk away which provides regular rail connections to Dublin's city centre. The Aviva Stadium and the RDS can be reached after a 10-minute DART rail journey. If you're staying in the area, we have partnered up with a number of local businesses so guests can enjoy discounts on activities. The beautiful village of Dalkey is a short trip down the coast and is great for an afternoon's ramble. Directly opposite us is the historic east pier which was built especially for the arrival of Queen Victoria in 1900. Around the corner is the National Maritime Museum and the James Joyce Tower made famous by Ulysses is just a 5-minute walk away. If you fancy a dip, we'll supply you with towels for a visit to the well-known swimming spot, the 40 foot (beware of the seals!) We look forward to welcoming you to Haddington House. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, HostelWorld, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Haddington House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Hotel dún Laoghaire
Haddington House Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing