We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend away” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Haddington

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Haddington
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Totnes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Weekend away”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2014

Spent a long weekend in this hotel. The room was adequate if a little tired, bed was comfy and it was generally clean and tidy. We had a room overlooking the sea front, which was pleasant however the Dart (railway) runs directly in front of the hotel and it is noisy. It runs quite late in the evening and starts again very early in the morning. The sea front bedrooms are also above the bar which can also be noisy. The staff however are very friendly and helpful, calling cabs for us and making our stay very pleasant. There are good walks and a great market on Sunday at the peoples park. We booked this through booking .com- not a good idea we could have got it cheaper if we had booked direct. Breakfast was okay but limited choice and self service which I hate, and no brown sauce! Had a great meal in the restaurant- excellent food and service.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DevonLovely
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    114
    57
    22
    25
See reviews for
67
117
18
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed in The Kingston for a two day stay and were delighted with the service at the hotel. The Italian Restaurant was very good value with a great menu and the night we were there it was busy but we were so impressed with the efficiency of the service. Would definitely stay here again if only for the fabulous views and being able to walk to shops and local places of interest. We WILL be back!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LouiseHSpain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loughrea, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2014

My Family (about 25 people) stayed in the Kingston over several days for our wedding. We all tremendously enjoyed the view and the location.

But there is more to this hotel. The staff was extremely helpful. They did their best to accommodate late bookings from our group even though the hotel was fully booked (Thank you again Sinead). They were flexible, readily available and everyone was invariably friendly.

I like the style of the building. It is elegant, historical but relaxed at the same time.

Everyone reported sleeping very well. The beds were comfortable, the duvets were large and the right thickness. The place was pleasantly heated and the bathrooms spotless.

We also had a private function on one night and the food served was really delicious.

I think this hotel has everything without the stiffness of luxury.
I will remember it with great pleasure and warmth.

Room Tip: Room with a sea view are really stunning but if you do not get one, you will have the opportunity to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emilie r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballycastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

I was a bit worried having stayed in hotels before in the south but my goodness this changed my view the hotel was beautiful set back of the road with views over the pier an sea with easy access to and from the dart 2 mins walk to local town market and 5 mins from town centre the staff were amazing the receptionist Sinead was really helpful and just lovely.

Breakfast was lovely sitting over looking the sea and the busy pier was just beautiful great selection of food on offer all of a high standard.

Room was small but very clean.

Beautiful walks all around town and plenty of information available at the reception area.

Great place to stay and I will be back

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karenann87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

Tired decor, mediocre breakfast, great location. The Kingston needs a face lift. It has beautiful views of the sea, pier and ferry from the restaurant. Free parking! But it's a tad shabby with old fashioned furniture. Could be so great, but needs investment. Our room was on floor 5, and quiet, but the bathroom had cracked tiles & grimy taps.
This hotel is ok for a hasty overnight but it's not for romantic nights away.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Ladybird43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I had to cancel my weekend at this hotel at the last minute due to ill health and the staff were more than helpful and understanding when I called them. They refunded the deposit which they weren't obliged to do and I am very grateful to them.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Petra D D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterford
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I had the occasion to stay here on Thursday 13th. I requested a sea view which was granted and the views were spectacular but that is where it ends. We arrived about 6pm to an empty reception desk with the back office door wide open and a clearly disorganised office with shoes and all sorts just thrown around the place. Hotel bar non existent seems to be more of a separate restaurant with bar which could be leased out. However I do have to say the breakfast staff were excellent and it was good. We also dined in the restaurant and found the food amazing. Pizzas were amazing as was the pasta. Would definitely go back to the restaurant. Whilst the room was great the hotel is in need of some TLC.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Perie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.2 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,938 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.7 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.4 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
3.0 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
4.1 mi away
Aberdeen Lodge
Aberdeen Lodge
#5 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haddington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haddington

Property: The Haddington
Address: 9-12 Haddington Terrace, Dun Laoghaire A96 F2R9, Ireland (Formerly Kingston Hotel)
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — The Haddington 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated on the seafront in Dun Laoghaire, The Haddington has panoramic views of Dublin Bay. Originally four Georgian townhouses the hotel began its life as Haddington House, a finishing school for girls, before being converted into a hotel in the 1950s. We are continuing to develop the hotel property but in keeping with the unique heritage of the building. Our fifty en suite bedrooms have flat screen multi-channel TV's, free WiFi, Nespresso coffee machines, digital radios, hair dryers and filtered still and sparkling water. Our newer 'Classic' and 'Deluxe' rooms also come with an in-room safe, a mini fridge stocked with fresh milk, as well as a complimentary Irish Times. Most of the rooms in these categories also have spectacular sea views. The location is hard to beat with Dun Laoghaire DART station just a 5-minute walk away which provides regular rail connections to Dublin's city centre. The Aviva Stadium and the RDS can be reached after a 10-minute DART rail journey. If you're staying in the area, we have partnered up with a number of local businesses so guests can enjoy discounts on activities. The beautiful village of Dalkey is a short trip down the coast and is great for an afternoon's ramble. Directly opposite us is the historic east pier which was built especially for the arrival of Queen Victoria in 1900. Around the corner is the National Maritime Museum and the James Joyce Tower made famous by Ulysses is just a 5-minute walk away. If you fancy a dip, we'll supply you with towels for a visit to the well known swimming spot, the 40 foot (beware of the seals!). In the hotel lobby you can kick back with a coffee or sip cool cocktails in our new Lobby Bar or you might like to dine in Oliveto, our popular Italian restaurant with an amazing view (booking highly recommended). There's also two unique events spaces: The Library Bar and Oak Room, and a buzzy garden overlooking the sea complete with a Hut Bar. We look forward to welcoming you to The Haddington. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld and Odigeo so you can book your The Haddington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kingston Hotel dún Laoghaire
The Haddington Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing