We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You must stay here, everything at your door step”
Review of Windsor Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 20 Dun Laoghaire B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 September 2013

The beautiful bay at the end of the street one way and the dart shops , pubs , eateries at the other end of the street. Mary the host was lovely and cooked us up a lovely breakfast every morning. My wife and I highly recommend this place to anyone. The room was very well appointed, the bed was comfortable and huge and nice and quiet.
Internet connection was very good and fast.

Room Tip: If your catching the air coach from the air port, make sure they drop you off the stop after the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mattoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

45 - 51 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Windsor Lodge on August 7 and 8. I was concerned when I walked in the room and it looked like the beddding had been pulled up and just thrown together. Mary was nice enough but seemed to always be in a hurry and not wanting to engage when asked questions. The entire time there I just didn't feel like there was alot of energy put into making visitors feeling comfortable as we have experienced in other B&B's in Ireland. The bedding just didn't seem fresh and the final confirmation of this was when I found hairs (that were not mine) in the bed on the day I left. Glad I didn't see this on my arrival. Needless to say, we were very disappointed in our stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2013

So we didn't want to drive in Dublin and we found the WIndsor Lodge. And we are glad we did.
The place was easy to get to by car.
Our room was clean and neat. It had a good bed.
From the room we could see a huge cathedral. nice.
the owners were gracious and helpful.
Breakfast was delicious.
It is a 3-4 minute walk to the train station and a 25 minute ride into dublin.

Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ebromon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

Trip - Sept 2012. Solo 30yr old woman traveler. Travel by public transit only.

I decided to stay in Dun Laoghaire when visiting Dublin and I'm very glad I made that choice. Windsor Lodge was within easy walking distance from a DART station (less than 5 minutes). The DART ride was ~20 min to Dublin. Windsor was on a very quiet street about half a block from the ocean. The sea air was lovely and you can walk for quiet a while on a sidewalk along the ocean. The rooms were slightly larger than other B&B's I stayed at in Ireland. The in-room shower and facilities were nice. There was a large garden area outside which I didn't sit in because it was wet and cold but it looked very inviting. Breakfast was good and large (as usual!). Mary helped me figure out train/bus schedules and let me use her phone as well.

Highly recommend this place if you want a cheaper, quiet place that still has easy access to Dublin.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2012

I booked 3 Austrian visitors into Windsor Lodge so that they could enjoy their short stay in Dublin, in this quiet neighbourhood, with easy access to the DART light rail system to the city centre, and walks on the seafront and Dun Laoghaire pier. They were not disappointed. The Aircoach from Dublin airport leaves guests close by, with about a 5-minute walk. The hostess is most helpful in advising about the excellent restaurants nearby in Glasthule and Dun Laoghaire.

They day they were leaving was very wet, so we arranged a taxi to take them to the city centre bus depot with their luggage, which cost €30, but was better than having them take their luggage on the DART.

They were delighted with their accommodation, and the price was reasonable for the excellent accommodation in this Victorian house that has kept many of its original features while adding modern day comforts.

Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Isabelle_Smyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I spent 1 night in the Windsor Lodge this week. At 70 euro for a double room with breakfast it was good value. The owners are welcoming and the room was large and bright. My booking showed a twin room but the beds were pushed together - this was no problem as I was sharing with my daughter.Very clean room and ensuite. One minute walk from the DART station at one end and the seafront at the other. A couple of minutes walk from the shops, pub and eating places in the village or 11 minutes to the main shops in Dun Laoghaire. Full Irish breakfast on offer plus the usual cereals etc.

Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
4  Thank JUNEYD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2012

We stayed at Windsor Lodge for one night whilst waiting for the ferry to return to England. It was a perfect place to stay for that -- very close to the port, in a nice neighbourhood, with comfortable room and a very good breakfast. Tony and Mary were very welcoming. We went for a pleasant walk on the seaside nearby in the morning. All in all, perfectly satisfactory. Thanks!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DixonsInLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Dun Laoghaire hotels
0.4 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,218 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
374 reviews
0.3 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lynden Bed & Breakfast
Lynden Bed & Breakfast
#4 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
81 reviews
0.4 mi away
Tara Hall Accommodation
Tara Hall Accommodation
#8 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Lodge B&B

Address: 3 Islington Avenue , Sandycove, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dun Laoghaire
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor Lodge is a fine Victorian home, built circa 1830. It is owned by the O'Farrell family who offer quality accommodation to visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Windsor Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Lodge B&B Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing