We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very good experience in this B&B in Dun Laghoaire” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Windsor Lodge B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Windsor Lodge B&B
Ranked #2 of 20 Dun Laoghaire B&B and Inns
Paris, France
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Very good experience in this B&B in Dun Laghoaire”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

Very good location, parking on site, we had a great room on the first floor facing the street with very comfortable beds.
Good value, the Irish breakfast is good and the host is very friendly.
Recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the entrance street on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gilles B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    48
    22
    4
    2
    1
See reviews for
22
37
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

We we're booked in here by a friend.
As soon as I saw the size of the room it I went online and tried to change to a different place but local hotels were full - So we were stuck here.
The room was tiny. The bed was tiny - It should not be sold as a double room.
The shower was very tiny too.
And the welcome was seriously poor.
If you don't like having people in your house you shouldn't run a B&B.
Would not return here.

Room Tip: There apparently is a bigger room with a big bed - I read other reviews before writing mine - So if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank paddybone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

The beautiful bay at the end of the street one way and the dart shops , pubs , eateries at the other end of the street. Mary the host was lovely and cooked us up a lovely breakfast every morning. My wife and I highly recommend this place to anyone. The room was very well appointed, the bed was comfortable and huge and nice and quiet.
Internet connection was very good and fast.

Room Tip: If your catching the air coach from the air port, make sure they drop you off the stop after the cit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mattoboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lawrenceville, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

My husband and I stayed at Windsor Lodge on August 7 and 8. I was concerned when I walked in the room and it looked like the beddding had been pulled up and just thrown together. Mary was nice enough but seemed to always be in a hurry and not wanting to engage when asked questions. The entire time there I just didn't feel like there was alot of energy put into making visitors feeling comfortable as we have experienced in other B&B's in Ireland. The bedding just didn't seem fresh and the final confirmation of this was when I found hairs (that were not mine) in the bed on the day I left. Glad I didn't see this on my arrival. Needless to say, we were very disappointed in our stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kristen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

So we didn't want to drive in Dublin and we found the WIndsor Lodge. And we are glad we did.
The place was easy to get to by car.
Our room was clean and neat. It had a good bed.
From the room we could see a huge cathedral. nice.
the owners were gracious and helpful.
Breakfast was delicious.
It is a 3-4 minute walk to the train station and a 25 minute ride into dublin.

Thank you for a wonderful stay

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ebromon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2012

Trip - Sept 2012. Solo 30yr old woman traveler. Travel by public transit only.

I decided to stay in Dun Laoghaire when visiting Dublin and I'm very glad I made that choice. Windsor Lodge was within easy walking distance from a DART station (less than 5 minutes). The DART ride was ~20 min to Dublin. Windsor was on a very quiet street about half a block from the ocean. The sea air was lovely and you can walk for quiet a while on a sidewalk along the ocean. The rooms were slightly larger than other B&B's I stayed at in Ireland. The in-room shower and facilities were nice. There was a large garden area outside which I didn't sit in because it was wet and cold but it looked very inviting. Breakfast was good and large (as usual!). Mary helped me figure out train/bus schedules and let me use her phone as well.

Highly recommend this place if you want a cheaper, quiet place that still has easy access to Dublin.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Janelle C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2012

I booked 3 Austrian visitors into Windsor Lodge so that they could enjoy their short stay in Dublin, in this quiet neighbourhood, with easy access to the DART light rail system to the city centre, and walks on the seafront and Dun Laoghaire pier. They were not disappointed. The Aircoach from Dublin airport leaves guests close by, with about a 5-minute walk. The hostess is most helpful in advising about the excellent restaurants nearby in Glasthule and Dun Laoghaire.

They day they were leaving was very wet, so we arranged a taxi to take them to the city centre bus depot with their luggage, which cost €30, but was better than having them take their luggage on the DART.

They were delighted with their accommodation, and the price was reasonable for the excellent accommodation in this Victorian house that has kept many of its original features while adding modern day comforts.

Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Isabelle_Smyth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.4 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,937 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Haddington
The Haddington
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
1.5 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
3.2 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,479 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
Ferry House Bed and Breakfast
#1 of 20 in Dun Laoghaire
4.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Lodge B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Lodge B&B

Property: Windsor Lodge B&B
Address: 3 Islington Avenue , Sandycove, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Windsor Lodge is a fine Victorian home, built circa 1830. It is owned by the O'Farrell family who offer quality accommodation to visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Windsor Lodge B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Lodge Bed And Breakfast
Windsor Hotel
Windsor Lodge B&B Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing