We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Glenrothes, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great value for money”
Reviewed 14 October 2012

Have just returned from a weekend at the Rochestown Lodge and would like to say that it has been one of the most pleasant places I have stayed. The staff are exceptionally friendly and very helpful, especially the bar staf. Had a meal in the restaurant and can honestly say it was absolutey delicious and well worth the money. The room was a good size and very clean and the spa facilities were really good. This was my first trip to Ireland and I can't wait to go back and will definitely be booking the Rochestown again.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz2908
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    132
    60
    28
    17
See reviews for
92
119
18
57
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

Firstly want to say im not a negative reviewer (check out my other posts) but i unfortunately hated every minute here.

Having travelled several hundred miles from west Ireland we requested a quiet room. We were allocated a room over the outside smoking terrace were several intoxicated men sang very loudly until gone 1.30am. Heard another individual attempting to change rooms to be informed they'd be charged for both!

Reception area was pleasant and good selection of tourist guides to look through. Bar area fine and modern.

Room was good size but dated. Can't believe it's a 4* hotel. Surely not as the curtains were stained and ripped, body hair was in the bed, the tv remote was missing it's back! And there was a lock missing on one window! Leisure facilities felt dirty and in the morning the breakfast room had cereal and food on the floor. Crockery also unclean.

Reading other reviews we perhaps got a bad day and night at the hotel but for the price we paid I certainly will avoid returning unfortunately.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriaanne85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hilton Head Island, SC, USA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Traveling as a group, we spent one night at Rochestown Lodge upon arrival from the USA before heading West for a week's travel. Booked rooms at Rochestown Lodge for the following weekend for the ND -v- Navy game. Accomodations, food, service and staff far exceeded our expectations and made us very comfortable. So much so, in fact, we cancelled our final two nights reservation at the Crowne Plaza and stayed put at Rochestown for our final five nights. Many thanks to everyone at Rochestown for the "home away from home" experience. We will be back!

Room Tip: Pick a room... any room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 September 2012

We went to Dun Laoghaire to visit friend and had to book hotel that we had not previously visited due to normally used hotel being unavailable. Hotel a good distance from Dun Laoghaire itself but easy to drive to once you know route. Room was a good size and very clean. Due to the crowds in Dun Laoghaire we decided to book a table in hotel restaurant. The menu was varied and covered all tastes and the food was absolutely superb and the restaurant staff, despite being extremely busy, were polite and very helpful. Overall experience was excellent and we would recommend hotel to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tonyc253
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clonmel.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

My Wife & I had a week end break in this hotel last week end , A very busy time ,with the american football & the Mayo & Dublin match, All the staff were so nice & helpful ,Catering staff were ran off their feet but still had time to listen , Our shower needed attention Sat morning ,Told Lady at desk & it was repaired on our return Sat evening . Room was spotless ,Got a clean every day, There is no need to be hungry in this hotel ,plenty of good food. Free wi fi ,Will be back.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back ,very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PhilipClonmel_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2012

We chose this hotel because of the pool facilities as we had grand children also staying.
We stayed 2 nights.We arrived early on our first day and as the rooms were vacant there was no problem in going straight to our rooms.The facilities are good, the rooms are a good size and very clean.The staff are obliging and friendly.Organisation is weak two instances :-Breakfast on our first day was a bit shambolic due to only 2 staff serving, tables not being cleared not enough cereals out etc.The pool and spa should open at 8.00 on a Saturday I was down there at 0915 all closed up.I chased them up and 10mins later there was someone down there.We had an evening meal and it was good value nothing special about the menu.
We went into Dublin on the LUAS which is a rail system that operates between Cherrywood a mile up the road from the hotel (catch a number 7 bus from opposite the hotel) and terminates on St Stephens Green at the top of Grafton St. The number 7 bus caught on the same side as the hotel will take you into O'Connell St Dublin.You can also catch the DART train from Dunlaioghre the same number 7 bus will take you there.Taxis are reasonable we paid 10 euros from Dun laioghre to the hotel and 24 euros into town for 6 of us.Overall it was good value we would stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2012 via mobile

I stay in Dublin regularly and tried this Hotel for a change

It's a little off the beaten track, fine if you're driving and it does seem to be on a bus route too

Staff at check in we're very friendly, rooms were a decent size and very clean. There was bottled water in the room which is something that not all hotels supply, also free wifi and parking I good.

The hotel has a small pool and sauna/steam room, again something that's hard to find in Dublin

The bar is good if a little dark. Food was excellent with lots of specials and the service is good too. Because the hotel is close to a residential area there were a good few locals in so there was a bit more if a buzz about the place than kilroy of hotel bars.

Didn't try the cooked breakfast but the continental one was fine, the breakfast room was a little quiet but that's not a bad thing.

Overall, it would be hard to pass this place by, i couldn't say it wowed me but it's great value for money and there are a good few extras that you don't get in city centre hotels. If the location is ok for you I'd recommend it and I'll certainly be back

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,075 reviews
1.6 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
365 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
The Beacon
The Beacon
#1 of 2 in Sandyford
1,298 reviews
3.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,599 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa

Property: Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Address: 164 Rochestown Avenue, Dun Laoghaire A96 T184, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Superbreak UK, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Hotel dún Laoghaire
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing