We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Stayed here over All Ireland weekend, had booked hotel through a cheap hotel site, when I rang to confirm my booking on the day the girl on reception couldn't find any booking for me even though a deposit had been taken off my card, she couldn't have been more helpful and found us a cancellation. She was very friendly on check in and extremely helpful for our stay. The place was buzzing. Breakfast piping hot . Lovely hotel

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DublinUn_happy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (372)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

248 - 254 of 372 reviews

Reviewed 22 September 2013

Can't comment about the accommodation, however the food served in the bar is very good. The menu is okay and contains all the old favourites, making it easy to choose. The food was served promptly and in good sized portions. In our opinion "tasty and good value".
We called at the weekend early evening and the bar was busy, but with plenty of staff, service was not a problem. Entertainment was provided from about 9-30pm which was enjoyable and relaxing. Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank allen w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I stayed recently with the girls for an overnight spa break. Spa was lovely with friendly staff. Hotel was nice, but very quiet and lacked atmosphere. Staff friendly. Rooms very clean, good size. Food was good. Would go back to spa. Got a very good deal for break.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShellVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I have used this hotel many times over the last few years and witnessed its decline. It's now looking rough around the edges, giving the impression that the owners are strapped for cash. Perhaps they should pop in here and see what they are investing in.
The staff have the demeanour of 'lifers'. The customer is an inconvenience. Time warp. Perhaps someone should let them know that the Celtic Tiger is dead and buried and that this is no longer acceptable. The receptionists are dour and uninterested. The old fella serving breakfast would clearly like to be doing something else.
It looks to me that the whole operation exists to please the people who work there. The only highlight is the middle-aged chap working the bar. A total professional. But the bar itself seems to be populated by the local derelicts who've been banned from every other pub in the area. Puts me in mind of the Cantina scene in Star Wars.
Still, just to end on a positive, my room was large, comfortable and good value for money.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
1  Thank Mr W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We have stayed in this hotel on 3 occasions,having returned recently from our last sojourn there,we feel compelled to comment on our experience,and fire a warning shot and some unsolicited advice to hotel management.

The first occasion was very positive about 2011,the 2subsequent stays were progressively more unpleasant,and we will not return there again.The c reason we went was the children liked the pool very much,and the diversity of foods at breakfast.
Some of the staff seemed v nice in particular the cleaning staff and some of the foreign national workers.
The breakfast waiting staff in particular were not so helpful in catering to our needs, in general there was a lack of engagement on behalf of the staff with us the customer, at times in fact we felt a bit of a nuisance rather than a paying client. The breakfast buffet layout was very poor on this trip and staff were very unconcerned when brought to their attention.
The food in the restaurant by nite was good enough. The rooms are good also and the gym/pool is up to scratch. Make sure you check your bill on checkout an extra 100e was added to ours inadvertently.
Advice to management : 1. Send all your staff on an interpersonal skills course.
2. Listen to your customer with some semblance of interest (that's definitely not happening to any major extent at the minute)
3. Make sure your accounts are correct before you present to the client (there is nothing more annoying than this!)

Room Tip: The family rooms are a good option
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fergal M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2013

From the moment we arrived we were greeted by very friendly staff and checked in very easily and quick. Our rooms were spotless with plenty of room.
We visited the spa for treatments having facials, body scrubs and full body massages and all were absolutly superb. Staff were amazing.
We had dinner in the restaurant from the set menu and it was one of the best dinners I have ever eaten. The selection for a set menu was something you dont see very often, and the food quality and portion sizes were outstanding. Try the banoffe moose for dessert, you will not be dissapointed...
After dinner we went to the bar for the live music. The atmosphere was brilliant with a great crowd and again brilliant staff...
Breakfast was made fresh for every customer, not the usual buffet style with food lying around for ages. Tasty and plenty to choose from...
I would highly recommend this hotel for any age whether staying as a couple, family or group of friends... I;m am looking forward to a return visit.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank glynnshar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

It started with the girls on reception, no interest whatsoever in checking us in. Gave is no detail about breakfast time or location. The first girl said oh go to her (pointing to her colleague) she'll do it when we arrived.
The room was very nice though, much bigger than usual hotel rooms.

Breakfast really took the biscuit. On a bank holiday Monday only 1 staff member to clear all the tables, seat patrons, take orders and serve. We were a full half an hour before we received menus. (We decided to just take our own seats as we were waiting so long) The waiters first greeting was a grunt which we guessed to mean to move tables as he walked past us.
We counted 13 uncleared tables full of half finished breakfasts and tea and coffees. They had been sitting there for at least 45 minutes.

We had a few drinks in the bar, served by a little man who seem to take immense pleasure in telling hotel patrons where they could or couldn't have a drink and then laughing behind their backs to the locals.

The pool was nice enough, small, but again the receptionist seemed like she wanted to be anywhere but there, sour puss and disinterested.

It is expensive compared with other hotels and does not deserve the 4 star rating, it is clear the recession has had a major impact on this hotel and they can no longer afford to pay for enough staff to run the place properly, however there is no excuse for the lack of staff at breakfast with 2 receptionists twiddling their thumbs.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stierdafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
1.6 mi away
Royal Marine Hotel
Royal Marine Hotel
#1 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
2,170 reviews
1.2 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.6 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
388 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,675 reviews
2.7 mi away
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
Clayton Hotel Leopardstown
#1 of 1 in Leopardstown
1,265 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Royal Hotel and Merrill Leisure Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa

Address: 164 Rochestown Avenue, Dun Laoghaire A96 T184, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: £80 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Superbreak UK, Ebookers, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, LateRooms, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rochestown Hotel dún Laoghaire
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing