We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good as Usual” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Royal Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Royal Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
129 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Very Good as Usual”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Stayed for a week at an event. Only quibble was with the shower. I was on the top floor in an unusual room for the hotel (have stayed many times). The water pressure in the room was poor.

On the other hand the breakfast was very good - nice selection from the buffet and helpful staff for tea and coffee special orders such as poached eggs.

Room Tip: Avoid 737 for the poor water pressure. There are a number of good sized family rooms that are worth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MichaelMcCann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear MichaelMcCann,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your week long stay at the hotel and thank you for your positive comments on your stay with us.

Thank you also for highlighting the shower pressure in your room which I will certainly endeavour to investigate and resolve.

We hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,938 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    816
    703
    247
    124
    48
See reviews for
402
817
86
287
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (535)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
53 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

The Royal Marine is in a lovely location overlooking Dun Laoghaire harbour and in front of the shopping centre. The port and the train station are only a 5-minute walk (up hill) to the front door. I had a great room with sea view and of typical of 4-star standard.

My only issue was that we were ushered into the bar for breakfast. This is obviously an overflow option but the bar is dark and lacks atmosphere in the morning - so make sure you go to the restaurant (if you decide to take breakfast here, the main street with some cafes is only a minute away).

Dun Laoghaire is a very good location for exploring the south of Dublin. There are lots of walks along the coast. Buses and the train are on your doorstep. The city is about 15 minutes by train. Dalkey and Killiney villages are about 10-20 minutes by bus.

Room Tip: Pay for a seaview room if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DublinMED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear DublinMED,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and thank you for all of your nice comments about the hotel. Thank you also for highlighting the location of Dun Laoghaire as a nice place to visit and we certainly welcome your comments on our Hardy's Breakfast room which is certainly necessary to ensure a smooth breakfast service each morning for our guests.

I hope that you will have another opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
142 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

As impressive as the Building looks the rest of the story is not.
Hotel booked to capacity with mostly kids on a Sailing Championship .
The room we were assigned had a lovely view of a corroding wall,beautiful !
We were advised that we should have requested a Sea view at the time of booking,which was done by the travel agency!?!?!?
On the positive the noise of the Seagulls reminded us of the location .
Breakfast Line to get into the Dining room worse than Atlanta Airport at 5pm.Disaster!
The Hotel needs a good cleanup and paint job .
Wear boxing gloves when dealing with the Front Desk! They will win though!
After more than 10 days in Ireland and many 4 and 5 Star hotel this has been the absolute worse.
Even though we had prepaid ,we chose to cut it short and change to a full Service Hotel.
Buyer beware!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Kapitaenleutnant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Falkenau,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to read that your stay did not meet with your expectations and I have looked into the circumstances of your booking with us.

Firstly, our sea-view rooms can only be guaranteed by reserving them at the time of booking. In general, all agency bookings of this kind do not include a free upgrade to our sea-view rooms. I am also aware that you requested a sea-view room on arrival and as we did not have any sea-view rooms available, we were not able to facilitate this request unfortunately. I was disappointed that you chose to leave the hotel early due to this reason.

Our breakfast room is managed to ensure that all guests / parties are individually met, greeted and seated by the staff and managers on duty to ensure that proper table allocation is managed in a sensible manner. Access to the dining room is managed to ensure that all guests are met and seated in the same manner and this helps ensure a smooth breakfast service for all of our guests. All of our ground floor areas have been refurbished in recent months and weeks as we continue with a major programme of redecoration throughout the building. I was disappointed to read that the hotel did not meet with your expectations on this occasion but would hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again and perhaps reserve and enjoy one of our sea-view rooms on your next stay with us.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2014

Lovely old-world hotel with modern amenities. I stayed here for 3 nights for a wedding. The staff were fantastic, very nice and attentive. The room was on the narrow side but suited our purposes just fine. The location is quite convenient for Dun Laoghaire.

As much as I loved the hotel, I'd be wary of staying in the summer. While we were there, the hotel hosted a group of Continental students who were there to learn English. Their behaviour in the pool was appalling and they were practically unsupervised. The fitness centre staff did what they could, but the tour/school operator is at fault for not providing adequate supervision. So visit this hotel in the off-summer hours or only swim in the pool during the adults-only times.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ann S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Ann S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us for a recent wedding that was being held in the hotel. Thank you for your nice comments about the hotel and location and thank you sincerely for mentioning our hard working staff in that way that you did. I look forward to sharing your feedback with them. Our family and children's swimming times are designed to benefit all users of the swimming pool and the area is monitored at all times by our health club staff.

I hope that you will have another opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Was there for a week in 2011, the hotel has a great location right in middle of everything- a sea shore, shopping malls, shops, nice restaurants, movie theatre, train St. ,yet its not noisy and property has some great lawns..only dampner was services , felt it could have been better. Overall very good stay otherwise. !!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vishal G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Vishal G,

Thank you for posting a review of your stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel in 2011 and thank you for all of your nice comments about the hotel and experience you received with us. We constantly strive to improve upon what we do each day in the hotel and all feedback from our guests is used constructively in this regard.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Old Lyme
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

Fourteen of us (all family) came for 8 nights, and we had a wonderful time. The rooms were clean and comfortable, and the staff was helpful and kind (my mom cried saying goodbye to Leo and my daughter couldn't wait to fill Jessica in on the day's activities). The location of the hotel is excellent as the Dart and buses are close by. The pier across the street is a beautiful walk. The morning breakfast was excellent, and the kids loved the pool. This hotel helped make the trip one we will never ever forget.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear F.S,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of you and your families recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and thank you for all of your nice comments about the hotel, the service and food and for mentioning the special relationship between members of your party and a number of members of our staff.

We really appreciate the time you have taken to publish your review and I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon in Dun Laoghaire.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WARRINGTON
Level Contributor
73 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

Stayed 2 nights
had room on floor 7 , very comfortable. Bed dead cosy.
ate in bar, snacks quite good. Service excellent.
Breakfast in restaurant good.Very clean.
.Pool in basement good, the girl down there was very kind.
car parking efficient, never waited over a couple minutes for a lift.

Room Tip: If you can, try for a superior classic room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BIGFOOTDAVE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this review, 13 July 2014
Dear BIGFOOTDAVE,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your most recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and thank you for commenting on the comfort of our 'Pillow Top' beds and thank you for commenting on the quality of the food and service in Hardy's Bar. I was delighted to read your other positive comments on the hotel and I hope that you will have another opportunity to visit us again soon in Dun Laoghaire.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
0.2 mi away
The Haddington
The Haddington
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
1.8 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
1.6 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
4.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Clontarf Castle Hotel
Clontarf Castle Hotel
#4 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,586 reviews
3.2 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
6.9 mi away
The Croke Park
The Croke Park
#6 of 153 in Dublin
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Property: Royal Marine Hotel
Address: Marine Road, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and a favourite with the locals, this landmark Hotel is an impressive sight on the Dun Laoghaire skyline. Since 1828, a Dublin Hotel has occupied the site now occupied by the Royal Marine Hotel. With 228 Bedrooms, 14 Dedicated Meeting Rooms and a Conference Centre as well as The Pier Health Club and sananaSPA; the Royal Marine Hotel has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotelopia, Odigeo, Agoda and TravelUp so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine dún Laoghaire
Hotel Royal Marine
Royal Marine Hotel Dublin
Royal Marine Hotel Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing