We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay!”
Review of Royal Marine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Royal Marine Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were touring Ireland as part of a CIE Tour Group. We had 1 day to tour Dublin and this was a good location for our home base. The room was spacious and very clean. It did not have a view which was a little disappointing, but when you're touring in a group this is to be expected. I was told this hotel was a great place for weddings. (There was a wedding going on the night we stayed.) Our room was quiet which was greatly appreciated. Breakfast was very hearty and service was great. For a large hotel, I was very impressed with the service.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Alicia O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and thank you for all of your nice comments about the hotel.

Thank you for highlighting the excellent service that you received in the hotel and I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,015 - 1,021 of 2,123 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2014

Have just spent two days at this hotel and definitely will not be back! Service is atrocious in all aspects of hotel from reception staff to bar staff. Rooms are in desperate need of revamp and smell in corridor well that is in a league of its own! The only thing this hotel has in it's favour is the location the view ..... But not from the room we had ..... Is fabulous! Children are restricted to allocated times at swimming pool and even that is dark and dismal. Save your money don't waste it booking this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't stay on 2nd floor as you will have to endure smell in corridor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank jenni112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear jenni112,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to read your comments about your stay and I would be grateful if you could contact me directly at the hotel so that we may learn more about your experience with us. Please contact me at the hotel directly or on email at aryan@royalmarine.ie. We appreciate all guest feedback that we receive and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We recently stayed at the Royal Marine Hotel in Dublin and we are really disappointed.

We are a young family with a 1 year old and a 3 three year old and we were doing a mini tour of Ireland over the holidays.

Perhaps our mistake was that our standards were set so high prior to arriving having stayed at the Powerscourt Hotel (which was absolutely amazing), the Castlemartyr Resort just outside Cork (also beautiful and wonderful for children) and the Adare Manor Hotel in Limerick which was stunning.

These are just a few of the things that let us down the most.

- We couldn't get through to Room Service at all. We had to call busy Reception every time and when food and drinks arrived they were really not good at all. Ice cold Apple Pie, miserable looking Fish and Chips and when we asked for something from the children's menu it was covered in (rock) salt! Huge flakes of the stuff!!??! They also hide the service charge on the next page when you sign for it and leave a space above your signature for you to add a tip - which is just shady as far as we are concerned and immediately put our back up.

- On arrival there was no one to help bring our bags in and the meet and greet at Reception was rushed - were given no information about the Spa, Pool, Breakfast or Dining facilities.

- We paid €423 for two nights for a suite (£335!) because we have two children. It was not a suite it was a just large room with one bed, a camp bed, two chairs, a desk and a travel cot in it. The television was wall mounted and cheap and facing the chairs so you couldn't even see it from the bed or move it. Hard to explain but really just badly set out.

-The lock on the door to our room was hanging off, the shower knob is broken, scratchy hospital style towels and no mini bar except two bottles of water.

Overall we found the vibe of the Royal Marine Hotel rather complacent with limited effort on the little things, in need of an update and other than location we have been left extremely flat.

We are huge fans of grand old Hotels with large sash windows overlooking sea views, high ceilings and dramatic staircases, but we also like to get what we pay for with a little love and attention paid on the little things (like our babies when needed).

We just don't see any reason why old has to mean shabby and tired...oh and keep your kids at home.

Worth the extra money to stay at Powerscourt in future - classy, accommodating and not complacent in the slightest.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank LucieLu2410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear LucieLu2410,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was disappointed to read that your expectations were not met during your recent stay at the hotel with your family.

We strive to provide a relaxed and welcoming environment through working hard to cater for all of our guests needs and I am sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion. I would be grateful if you could contact me directly to discuss the circumstances of your stay with us so that we may learn more about your experience and use your feedback constructively and positively in the future. Please contact me at the hotel directly or by email at aryan@royalmarine.ie.

I can assure you that we are not complacent about our business in anyway. We work extremely hard every day to look after our guests to a very high standard and I look forward to hearing from you soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We have stayed in many parts of Dublin, but this location ls one of the best. Train service, quiet village, and beautiful view all along the bay are big positives The hotel is old,but well maintained.
We will stay again

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear Steve C,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay at the hotel and that you enjoyed and complimented our location. Dun Laoghaire certainly is a beautiful coastal town which is ideally situated for visiting Dublin City or Co. Wicklow.

Thank you for your feedback and I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Superb high end hotel. Very good sized room (basic double) with comfortable bed, large bath and separate shower cubicle. Staff friendly and welcoming. Booked room only and didn't eat in hotel but those who did seem to be enjoying good food. We chose to breakfast in Dun Laoghaire as there were so many places providing good value priced breakfasts (we'd stayed before and knew this ahead of our stay). With the DART at the bottom of the road it's ideal for 'doing' Dublin or a day trip to Bray.

Room Tip: Have regular offers on their website so check out direct booking rather than comparison websites.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ReggieMichael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear ReggieMichael,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your recent stay in the hotel and thank you for all of your nice comments about the hotel and service that you received. Thank you for highlighting the convenience of the DART for taking day trips from the hotel also.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We enjoyed our 3 night stay here in this old style hotel with good service and excellent accommodation in an upgraded executive room overlooking the sea. Free and ample car parking.Free wi fi. Plenty of coastal walks nearby. Very handy for the Holyhead ferry.
There are plenty of good restaurants in the area and the train into the city is 5 minutes walk away - only 5.50 euros return fare for the 20 something minutes trip.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snellsnook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2014

Dear snellsnook,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your three night stay in the hotel and thank you for all of your nice comments about the hotel and for mentioning the excellent accommodation that you experienced.

I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Stayed here a number of times and have never been disappointed, on this occasion we stayed for four nights, the room was large with a great sea view, the extra charge is definitely worth it.
All the staff we had contact with we're helpful and friendly, the hotel is a well run establishment with a good atmosphere.
The bed was very large and really comfortable, the buffet breakfasts really set us up for the day and the meals in the restaurant was excellent and good value.
As said before I couldn't fault any part of the service and I am looking forward to our next stay

Room Tip: Sea view rooms, extra cost but worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank stopwatch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagerRoyalMarine, General Manager at Royal Marine Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear stopwatch,

Thank you for posting a review of your recent four night stay at the Royal Marine Hotel on Trip Advisor. I was delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay in the hotel and thank you for all of your nice comments about the hotel and about our friendly and hard working staff. Thank you also for highlighting the quality of the food served at breakfast and dinner.

I hope that you will have an opportunity to visit us again soon in Dun Laoghaire.

Kind regards,

Aidan Ryan
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dun Laoghaire
1.8 mi away
Fitzpatrick Castle Hotel Dublin
0.2 mi away
Haddington House
Haddington House
#3 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
380 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
Rochestown Lodge Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Dun Laoghaire
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Radisson Blu St. Helen's Hotel, Dublin
2.9 mi away
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
Talbot Hotel Stillorgan
#1 of 1 in Stillorgan
1,643 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Beacon
The Beacon
#1 of 2 in Sandyford
1,315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Marine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Marine Hotel

Address: Marine Road, Dun Laoghaire, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dun Laoghaire
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Dun Laoghaire
Price Range: £84 - £164 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Marine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 228
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steeped in history and a favourite with the locals, this landmark Hotel is an impressive sight on the Dun Laoghaire skyline. Since 1828, a Dublin Hotel has occupied the site now occupied by the Royal Marine Hotel. With 228 Bedrooms, 14 Dedicated Meeting Rooms and a Conference Centre as well as The Pier Health Club and sananaSPA; the Royal Marine Hotel has it all. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Royal Marine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Marine dún Laoghaire
Hotel Royal Marine
Royal Marine Hotel Dublin
Royal Marine Hotel Dun Laoghaire, County Dublin, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing