We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Clochard B&B

Clochard B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clochard B&B
Ranked #70 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Lovely Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2012

My sister & I stayed here for 6 nights while visiting the quilt show in Galway. Clochard is a lovely house in a quiet cul-de-sac.Our en-suite room was very clean & attractive with a good shower. The breakfast was fantastic and my sister being a vegetarian was not a problem, it kept us going for most of the day. Pat & Helena were lovely hosts, nothing was too much trouble,even tumbled dry our clothes after being caught out in an Irish downpour.
We chose Clochard as it was a central walk to the University & town. We did find that the walk to town was, for us, more like 15-20 mins but it was an easy & level walk so not a problem.
We would stay again when visitin Galway.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrankyBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    19
    8
    5
    2
See reviews for
12
37
4
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hannover, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2012

You WANT to stay here in this homely family B&B!
Pat and Helena, the owners, will tend to all of your needs in their very friendly, welcoming way.
They really take care of their guests.
Everyone is smiling and happy, and Toby, the family dog is absolutely great.

The room was immaculately clean and breakfast could not possibly be faulted in any way.

Our three nights here were an absolute real pleasure,
with Pat and Helena providing all the information we needed for places to eat, things to do,
and local customs.

I couldn’t have asked for a nicer friendlier place to stay for my first trip to Galway, coming from Germany.
This is a very good value, and we can’t imagine having any complaints.

Thank you so much, Helena!!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2012

Once again we would like to thank Pat & Helena @ Clochard for a wonderful stay, we stayed @ Clochard back in 2008 and returned again for their wonderful hospitality earlier this month. The rooms were very nicely decorated and very clean, breakfast was awesome and kept us going for most of the day. Looking forward to our next stay @ Clochard :) Great location and no traffic noise for a great nights sleep....

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aussiejackMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2012

We had an excellent stay at Clochard and would strongly recommend it. The breakfast was delicious & very filling, the room very clean and warm (I'm usually always cold!), great shower with hot water and great water pressure, and the location was an easy walk to the fun part of town with tons of pubs and live music. The best part though was Helen! She saved us tons of times. She gave us great advice for planning out daytrips/ferries, made a call for us, dried my soaked jacket, gave us perfect driving directions to the ferry, and helped us start our car when the steering wheel was locked :). We owe you Helen!! Thanks for helping making our time in Galway great.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RRC417
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

Although it is said that it's a 10 minute walk to the city centre it's more closer to 20 minutes. My wife and I are also fast walkers. The room was a little on the small side but adequate. The breakfast was one of the better ones we had in three weeks in Ireland with a good selection of cheeses and breads. Good value for your stay in Galway.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmct4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emu Park, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2011

Really enjoyed our stay with Pat & Helena.
Hearty Breakfast & very comfortable rooms
set us up for the day touring Galway City.
Helena helped us organise laundry & the location
is central for walking.
Pat,must have been those big hearts we spoke
about in the win over the Aussies in the Cup.
Great result!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scrubtik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My wife and I stayed at Clochard for our first 2 nights in Ireland. This B&B is conveniently located. It's about a 10 minute walk from downtown Galway. The room was clean, well kept and attractive. The owners, Pat and Helena are very nice. Breakfast was delicious.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rourkie76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#28 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.2 mi away
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
#112 of 197 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
0.3 mi away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Donegan Court Aparthotel
Donegan Court Aparthotel
#31 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.4 mi away
Consilio
Consilio
#31 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Glenariff
B&B Glenariff
#62 of 197 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 35 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clochard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clochard B&B

Property: Clochard B&B
Address: Clochard 4 Spire Gardens | Shantalla Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Clochard B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clochard bed& Breakfast is a Luxurious family bed and Breakfast Quite Historic site, Irish Tourist Board Approved, Registered with Town and Country Homes Ass. and Bed& Breakfast Nationwide U.K 10 minutes walk to City Cenrte to all resturants, Pubs. Music,and to University College Hospital, NUIG. and Beach.Cable T.V , Tea/ Coffee Facalities in all rooms free Internet Access Wi FiAll tours can be arranged on arrival Connemars Tour. Cliffs Moher, Aran Island free pick up for all tours each morning.Guided walking tours arranged for Connemars and the Burren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clochard B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing