We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay”
Review of Clochard B&B

Clochard B&B
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Clochard B&B
Ranked #60 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed with Patrick and Helena for 3 days in Galway. We have stayed in B and B's that had larger rooms, but none with hosts that had hearts for their guests that were as big as Patrick and Helena. They went above and beyond anything we could have expected when we had an alarm about having lost our car keys. They went out of their way to help us and ultimately they are the ones who found the keys saving us a lot of money with the rental company. They were caring and kind in every respect. We all had a good laugh when the crisis was past.

The rooms were immaculate, the facilities in the bathrooms, especially the showers were great and the beds were very comfortable. The B and B is within easy walking distance to the heart of Galway saving us the problem of finding parking in the city (no easy task). When we were caught in the rain the cab ride back to the B and B was inexpensive because it was so close. The food was good and both Patrick and Helena were very accommodating at breakfast.

I plan on returning to Ireland for more photography and if I stay in the Galway area will certainly stay there again - assuming they have an opening for my stay. My wife echoes all I have said.

Room Tip: None at this time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Edward F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (92)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 92 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2014

After a rather harrowing drive from Dublin, we arrived to find Pat waiting for us with a warm, friendly smile. He helped us with our bags and pointed us in the direction to Galway city center. It was a 15 minute walk. Breakfast was delicious and the conversation and advice was perfect. I highly recommend this place! It was immaculate and homelike. He, and now we, recommend the Connemara/Cong day tour.

Room Tip: En suite is the only way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Trish E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

On our last trip back to Ireland we stayed @ Clochard for 3 nights as we had previously done, we find this beautiful B & B a home away from home, the hosts Helena & Pat are VERY welcoming & friendly people, we recommend this B & B highly, we were so well looked after, beautiful clean crisp sheets, spotless surroundings & beautiful breakfast to start our day plus a bit of Irish humour thrown in which is always welcomed, looking forward to our 3rd visit to Clochard in the near future....

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussiejackMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I stayed here for two nights with friends. Even thought we showed up 3 1/2 hours after check in she was still more then welcoming. She got us right into our rooms and was helpful in getting ourselves situated. She had the most choices for a breakfast selection out of all the B&Bs I stayed at. Her homemade croissants were awesome and we have not stopped talking about them! She always gave large portions of food which was delicious. She was helpful with recommending attractions to see and how to plan our way. She gave us the easiest directions out to the Aran Island ferry to go to Inis Mor and when we went to see Trad on the Prom she told us what to expect and that we would love it. Helena and Pat were Friendly and shared stories of past experiences going to different attractions and B&Bs. She was kind enough to call ahead to our reservation at the next B&B to confirm that our reservations were accommodating as we had booked!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Nick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013

Had a great stay here on what happened to coincide with Galway race weekend.
Fantastically located roughly 10 minutes walk from loads of great restaurants and pubs. Same distance to the Prom also.
The room itself was clean and comfortable and we were well looked after by our hosts.
The breakfast is excellent & certainly kept us going through to lunch.
The B & B can be a little tricky to find so maybe best to have it mapped out before you arrive in Galway especially for busy periods like when we were there and the traffic was gridlocked!

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank ChonyBails
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2013 via mobile

We are on day 12 of a 17day tour of Scotland and Ireland. This is by far the worst place we've stayed. Seedy neighborhood. Bad beds. Noisy. Windows very thin. Street noise and seagulls wake you. Overpriced for the quality. Very misleading location.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank f02301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onemaddog, Owner at Clochard B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2013

Thank you for taking time to review your stay. We are twenty years providing tourist accommodation and we always try to make guests as comfortable as possible. We are located in a small private multiple award winning developement which is off street. Within the meaning of the word seedy a mature established neighbourhood with mostly retired people could hardly be described as a seedy neighbourhood. We supply all our guests with high base good quality semi orthopaedic beds. Our windows are aluminium and double glazed to exclude draughts and noise. We are located off street so street noise is never a problem. We neither keep or breed sea gulls and we are located 2 kilometers from the sea. Our pricing structure is in line with all Irish tourist Board approaved 3 star homes. Our location Galway City Centre was determined by Galway City Council. We are located within walking distance of the City Commercial centre. I rest my case.
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2013

My Sister & I stayed at Clochard for three nights the beginning of June, to visit the quilt show at the University. We were made very welcome by Pat & Helena. The room was in the front of the house overlooking a lovely garden area. It was an average double size being bright, cheerful, very clean & comfortable. My sister is a fussy eater and Pat & Helena coped with with her breakfast needs very well. I had the Irish breakfast & it was cooked well and very tasty. We didn't need much to eat at lunchtime!! We walked to the University which was about 15 minutes away. For us the walk to town was 20/25 minutes away which we didn't mind. While walking we passed bus stops so I presume buses do pass if you do not have a car.
If planning another stay in Galway we would stay here again & would recommend to our friends & family.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FrankyBP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 46 in Galway
64 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 189 in Galway
234 reviews
3.6 mi away
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 189 in Galway
93 reviews
0.3 mi away
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
Deacy's Bed and Breakfast
#152 of 189 in Galway
45 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#27 of 189 in Galway
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clochard B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clochard B&B

Address: Clochard 4 Spire Gardens | Shantalla Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £29 - £40 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clochard B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clochard bed& Breakfast is a Luxurious family bed and Breakfast Quite Historic site, Irish Tourist Board Approved, Registered with Town and Country Homes Ass. and Bed& Breakfast Nationwide U.K 10 minutes walk to City Cenrte to all resturants, Pubs. Music,and to University College Hospital, NUIG. and Beach.Cable T.V , Tea/ Coffee Facalities in all rooms free Internet Access Wi FiAll tours can be arranged on arrival Connemars Tour. Cliffs Moher, Aran Island free pick up for all tours each morning.Guided walking tours arranged for Connemars and the Burren ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Clochard B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing