We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“How cool”
Review of The Skeff

The Skeff
Ranked #94 of 502 Restaurants in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Uniquely designed busy bar in the heart of Galway city center serving wholesome, quality food. 6 bars under the one roof including a thriving whiskey bar and cocktail bar - sit back enjoy some delicious food and drinks whilst overlooking Eyre Square. The Skeff Bar & Kitchen really is Galway's meeting place.
Reviewed 16 April 2014

300 years old. Great woodwork and art.. A real masterpiece. Friendly staff and great pint of Guinness

Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear David A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. We are one of the most unique bars in Galway city, with our intricate woodwork, beautiful artwork and rich history. I was delighted that you were able to take it all in and that you got to sit back with a pint of Guinness- it's a great way to top it off! We hope you pay us a return visit it you get the chance to come back to Galway city.

Warm Wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (659)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

422 - 426 of 659 reviews

Reviewed 30 March 2014

Great food, awesome atmosphere and reasonably priced.. even for a poor college kid on spring break like I was.

Thank Tyler K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear Tyler K,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. We pride ourselves on producing quality, wholesome food at a reasonable price. I have passed your kind words on to our hard working team and I hope you pay us a visit on your next visit to Galway City.

Warm Regards,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stopped at the Skeffington our first night in Galway for drinks. Nice atmosphere. Stopped in St. Patrick's morning for our first drink of the day. Delicious Irish coffee.

Thank Mary K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 8 April 2014

Dear MaryK,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable visit with us. We are blessed with our central location and when big events are on in the city we are at the very heart of all the action.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen on your next visit to Galway.

Warm Wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Had a really nice soup and roll after the St. Patrick's day parade. The place was full but not overcrowded. The people there were nice and the food was made quickly.

Thank Kati A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2014

Dear Kati A,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. You picked a great time to visit Galway with the parades taking place and there was a great atmosphere throughout the whole city. I'm glad you had an enjoyable visit with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

Myself and a few friends went to the Skeff over the weekend to watch the match on someone elses recommendation and we were so delighted that we went! The place had a big crowd- which is always a good sign and we got a lovely table in a comfy cove. The staff were very friendly and efficient, we ordered a couple of sandwiches and they were delicious! The atmosphere was so great and I would definitely recommend visiting...will definitely be going back in the next time I'm in Galway!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SJake2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2014

Dear SJake2014,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience with us- you picked a great day to visit us with Ireland winning the 6 Nations! I will make sure to pass your kind words on to our team.

We hope to welcome you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen on your next visit to Galway city.

Warm Wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Skeff also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Skeff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing