We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just the place to experience a REAL Irish pub” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Skeff

The Skeff
Ranked #83 of 466 Restaurants in Galway
Cuisines: Irish, Bar, European, Pub, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Cheap Eats, Bar Scene, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Drinks, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Uniquely designed busy bar in the heart of Galway city center serving wholesome, quality food. 6 bars under the one roof including a thriving whiskey bar and cocktail bar - sit back enjoy some delicious food and drinks whilst overlooking Eyre Square. The Skeff Bar & Kitchen really is Galway's meeting place.
Leverett, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
165 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Just the place to experience a REAL Irish pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Wonderful pub on the edge of Eyre Square/Kennedy Park - a warren of dark wood-paneled barrooms... perfect palce to stop of a pint or a pot of tae!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank RQP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear RQP,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. We are one of the most unique looking bars in the heart of Galway city with our intricate wood work and layout. I was delighted that you got to try some Irish delights from the Guinness to the tae!
We hope to welcome you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen on your next visit to the city of the tribes.

Warm Wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

564 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    179
    66
    38
    45
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mullingar, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

went in to get breakfast and waited for an hour and never got served, several people served before us. we ended up getting refund. terrible service, very disappointing. won't be going there again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tra202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Tra202,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor and my apologies that you had such a negative experience with us.
I would love for you to get in-touch with me on ashlingdudley@gmail.com so I can gather some more information from you regarding your visit - we welcome all feedback both positive & negative as it is the only way we can improve our business.

I look forward to hearing from you and apologies again that we fell below par on this occasion.

Warm Regards,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Just what we needed for our first day in Ireland”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

The Skeff was a welcoming location for our large traveling party on our first day in Ireland. We all met at our hostel and then wondered to Eyre Square to find this thriving bar & restaurant. We wondered our way up their stairs to a lovely dining area large enough to seat 14 people. The staff was friendly & efficient. The food was fresh and the Guinness was refreshing!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear rhioghnach,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen.
I was delighted to read your kind words regarding your experience with us. We are blessed with our central location in the heart of Eyre Square and with 6 bars under the one roof you are sure to find a spot to suit your group whether it is large or small.
I will make sure to pass your comments on to our team.

We hope to welcome you back for a return visit soon.

Warm Regards,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Offaly, Ireland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Brilliant place!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Came here on the saturday night while down in galway for 2 nights the minute we walked in we had a great time it is a beautiful place and the crack was brilliant we enjoyed it that much the we came back last night (sunday night) not as busy but still had a great time the music on both night was great!! The skeff is definately a must to hit when you visit galway! We will be returning again soon i hope!!

Helpful?
Thank Aleavy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Aleavy,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor regarding your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen. We have live entertainment every night from local bands and Djs which adds to our party atmosphere but we are also a place where you can come and enjoy quality food. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen in the near future.

Warm Wishes,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LONDON
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nite out .”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

walked in to a one manned? band . great buzz , very enjoyable place . staff are on top of it . great grub too /

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank CIARAN O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AshlingDudley, Manager at The Skeff, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Ciaron O,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on Tripadvisor about your recent visit to The Skeff Bar & Kitchen.
I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable time with us and we hope you pop in to visit us again on your next trip to Galway.
I'll pass your kind words on to all our team and on to our band who'll be delighted that they were mentioned!

Warm Regards,
Ashling Dudley
Food Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Skeff also viewed

 
Galway, County Galway
Galway, County Galway
 

Been to The Skeff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing