We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would look elsewhere”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
O'Hallorans Caravan and Camping Park
Ranked #39 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

Sorry that the title sounds harsh but for what we paid and the lack of facilities (just luke warm slow running showers) we don't think it's great. The owners were helpful enough and friendly but to us it seemed the overflow from Salthill next door. Sorry!

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Kerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2014

At our arrival in O'Hallorans we booked our tent pitch, the guy was nice with us. The guys that work in there are gentle, chatty and helpful to give you the info you need about the local facilities in the area, buses etc..

The campsite was quite full but it didn't feel too busy, it's spacious and there's enough room to put your tent on. People were quite, mixed crowd; cyclists, family and young campers. We stayed 2 nights and the only problem we had was saturday night because the tent beside us was noisy probably the people got a bit drunk and they kept us awake. We went into Galway during the Fringe Festival, so in a way you can expect something like that happening. It was a bit annoying, so the day after we complained with the owner. He apologized for the trouble and told us that he would have had a word with them.

When we left the same day, the owner let us leave the bags in the office as we went for the last stroll in Galway to the fringe festival touring around. He was kind with us, he let my girlfriend charge her iphone in his office too.

It's a family business. It's well run, and we would recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Riccardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2012 via mobile

I haven't stayed at this site, and after speaking to who I assume is the owner today, I wouldn't want to.

We are currently on holiday in Ireland with our recently bought caravan. We took a drive put to Galway as we'd seen a couple of sites on Google Maps. We saw this one, so we decided to have a look.

We turned up and asked how much the pitches were. The guy in the sales office asked me what I'd got and I told him a twin axle caravan. His response was abrupt: "we don't have twin axles on here" even though I could see at least 3 TA's parked up when I was stood there talking to him!

The Owner would not say why twin axles weren't allowed despite being asked twice. His response was "we just don't". No signs up confirming this.
Downright rude.

Not to worry- ill take my money elsewhere.

Avoid this site

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Noddynodster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2011

Stopped here for a visit to the oyster festival.
I rang beforehand to try and book and was told that they didn't take bookings, but it would be OK to be sure to be sure (yes they actually said that!)
After worrying that we would not find a space, we arrived to a warm welcome and quickly had a pitch.
The site was a bit too far out of the city (but the only option there is), but we cycled once, and as keen walkers walked on the second (more alcoholic) evening.
There was a problem with the water so no showers on Saturday but that was not the fault of the campsite - there was a burst water main locally.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank pwarnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2011

Lovely site just a short stroll from salthill. Got a very friendly welcome and was shown to our space. Toilets and shower were clean and there was no problem staying an extra day. Well worth a visit. I don't need 200 characters to review this site!1 Everything was perfect including price and location!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank TipperaryRedhead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and 2 daughters aged 5 and 7 stayed here the sunday night of the b/holiday w/end. After a TERRIBLE night camping in an overpriced dirty campsite in Westport, this was such a breath of fresh air. The lady met us and welcomed us and even told us another campsite we could view before choosing to stay with her. The toilets and showers were SPOTLESS. A hairdryer was provided which was great. And the silence both in the night and the following morning was so tranquil. Picnic tables and running water right where you pitch your tent was also a very welcome addition. No extra cost for the showers. Lots of hot water to shower and to wash your dishes. FABULOUS VISIT.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Ursula006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2011

Having slugged it over the midlands on my cycle over the previous two days, and wild camping with it, it was a pleasure to stay at O'Hallorans. Simple, basic, clean and friendly, will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sintellinser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Galway
0.8 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,602 reviews
17.0 mi away
Galway Glamping
Galway Glamping
#4 of 60 in Galway
114 reviews
20.3 mi away
O'Connors Doolin Riverside Camping & Caravan Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,126 reviews
4.0 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.4 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Hallorans Caravan and Camping Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Hallorans Caravan and Camping Park

Address: Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 60 Speciality Lodging in Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing