We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring Your Own Pillows.”
Review of The White House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White House
Ranked #166 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 August 2013

My husband and I and two friends received an effusive but strange welcome,as our host actually sat on our bed to "explain" about the breakfasts and take our orders. What he didn't explain until the next morning was that the price had gone up E4 each since our original booking.
The house is in a good location, with lovely views over the bay, and within easy walking distance from Galway and the seaside village.
We were in a room with 6 pillows - all really dirty and without pillow protectors. I left the pillow slips off in case staff hadn't noticed they were dressing dirty bedding, but they were just put back and nothing said. There was no mattress-cover on our bed. The T.V. was useless because we couldn't hear it. I came in wet one rainy afternoon - shower freezing! The breakfast waitress was lovely, and the breakfast was ok.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

89 - 95 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 29 July 2013

Arriving late one afternoon, we were warmly welcomed by the very friendly hosts. This place has old world charm. While some of the aesthetics and fittings may seem a bit outdated, everything was clean and comfortable. The filling hearty irish breakfast was good. Great location for twilight walks on the prom, and only a quick bus ride into the centre of Galway. Definitely would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank azerv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

I stayed here with wife, daughter and son-in-law. Booked on the internet. We knew it was a little outside town but near the sea, no surprise about the location. What we were not prepared for was the service, gruff to the point of rudeness, and the terrible breakfast. It was a sad introduction to the West of Ireland for the younger people.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterMSimons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

This establishment is old and could do with paint here and there but the manager and staff work extremely hard to keep the place spotlessly clean. Our room was large with beautiful sea views. The bathroom was small but adequate and finishings looked fairly recent. We loved the location...the walk into Galway is straightforward and being on the promenade until late at night a treat esp in the recent heatwave. We had other plans for breakfast so cannot comment the b&b breakfast. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TurnerCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013

I booked this site through Booking.com where its rating was ok, but I would recommend against staying here. To start with, the location is not central, it's at least a 15 minute walk into town. The Salthill area it is located is not great either. The guest house itself is run down and looks pretty bad from the outside. We had a terrible hard bed, the bedroom furnishings were awful and the overall atmosphere is odd as there are 10 or so rooms but no central reception, so it felt a bit like staying in a small youth hostel. Good points were our room was big, the cooked breakfast was fine and the hosts were friendly, but still, I would have rather paid £10-15 more to stay in a more central hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PLR32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2013

The White House is about 15 minutes far from the city center. The rooms are big and very well furnished. They didn't have shampoo and body soap, only hand soap.
No reception staff. We went early in the morning, before the time of check in, we left our luggages there, and when we went back in the afternoon, there were nobody. We stayed for a long time outside the White house at the windy weather. If a woman-client didn't open the door, we would stay almost an hour outside the accommodation.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ELVIRAKARAMEN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The White House is a pretty good spacious B&B that is situated in the Salthill suburb of Galway and that is only about a kilometer away from the Spanish Arch and the Quay Street side of the city centre so it can easily be walked or is only a short cab ride to get to shops and restaurants. The hotel is comfortable and clean and is all one could ask for on a budget stay in Galway.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
1.2 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
0.2 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#12 of 189 in Galway
117 reviews
0.7 mi away
Galway Arms Inn
Galway Arms Inn
#112 of 189 in Galway
63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Wards Hotel
Wards Hotel
#89 of 189 in Galway
78 reviews
1.5 mi away
Four Seasons B&B
Four Seasons B&B
#44 of 189 in Galway
232 reviews
1.1 mi away
Eyre Square Townhouse
Eyre Square Townhouse
#101 of 189 in Galway
169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White House

Address: The White House The White House The White House 2 Ocean Wave, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #166 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £33 - £132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The White House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Galway Bay, offering luxurious accommodation close to all main amenities ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The White House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The White House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing