We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well-run hostel”
Review of Snoozles Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Snoozles Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Well-run hostel”
Reviewed 20 July 2013

It had been over 20 years since I stayed in a hostel, and I was apprehensive about staying in one, but the 2-day tour I'd booked included it as the overnight accommodation, I am happy to say that hostels (at least this chain) have changed quite a lot over the years. Snoozles was very clean, well-run, included a free (!) breakfast, en-suite rooms, comfy beds and linens, and lovely 24/7 front desk service. You can hire a towel for cheap, and borrow many other things you might need (e.g., ironing board). There is a TV/lounge area as well. The only drawback in my opinion was that the room I was put in (6 people in 3 bunkbeds) was co-ed and I found that awkward. I had even thought they advertised same-sex rooms, but maybe only if you ask for it. Also the bathroom floor can get very wet and messy as there isn't much of a drain slope and no bath mat is provided. Other than that, the place was great.

Room Tip: Ask for a same-sex room if it matters to you, otherwise you will probably get co-ed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DRBTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear DRBTravels,
Thank you for your great review – it is always nice to get feedback from a senior contributor. I’m glad we may have helped change your opinion on hostels! You are correct; hostels have changed dramatically over the past few years and we are proud to offer a new level of service to budget conscious travellers. Regarding our female only dorms, these are available to book online and in advance and as you can imagine, tend to fill up quickly. Whenever guests booked directly with us, we will always encourage and offer single sex rooms, however they are not always available. Good tip as you mentioned – always ask. Again, thank you for your feedback, we will ensure we continue to advertise and offer our single sex dorms when possible.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    105
    42
    13
    3
See reviews for
28
52
65
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2013

A few friends and I travelled from Dublin for a girl's night out in Galway. As we got off the bus ready for our conquest to find the hostel we were more than pleasantly surprised to find it, literally, around the corner from the bus station. The location could not be any better, within walking distance of everything! But also spaced enough away from the Main Street to ensure a quite night.

We checked in and dropped off out bags with Aimee the receptionist who suggested we do a free tour of Galway, which we did. ( I would recommend this, however, it does drag on slightly so if you're easily bored or have back problems this may not be for you.)

The hostel itself is flawlessly clean. The kitchen and common eating area is large enough to fit at least 25 people seated, and the sitting room has comfortable couches, a tv, musical instruments and plenty more to keep you entertained. There is also a lovely outside area where you can sit and enjoy the sunshine.

Although there were only 4 of us we were put in a six person room, this consisted of 3 bunk beds. (And as far as bunk beds go these were the best of the best. Slept like a baby) bathroom was basic but well equipped, the floor does get wet however as the shower is only protected with a curtain so bring extra towels or rent them from reception.

You are free to enjoy your own alcohol in the common areas as long as you remain courteous to others and clean up after you. This gives you a chance to meet others staying in the hostel and maybe join up on one of the many pub crawls in the city!

I know this review is already too long but I have to say something about Aimee! The welcome we got when we first entered the hostel gave us an idea of the ethos they portrayed. I've never met someone in Aimee's position that was so friendly, charming, helpful and genuine and who obviously loved what she was doing! As we were having a drink before our night out she came over to make conversation with us, offered us drink tokens and even asked if she could get a picture of us for their Facebook! So a special thank you to her for making our night so special!

I would, and have already, highly recommend staying in snoozles! And I hope to be back very soon!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnaRuthH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Dear AnnaRuthH,
Thank you so much for taking the time to leave such a detailed review! We appreciate your feedback and thank you for giving others your opinion of us! Thanks for the 5/5 in all categories. We are delighted to be called ‘flawlessly clean’! It was lovely to meet you all and we hope you will return to Snoozles in the near future! Thanks again, your review made us all smiley for the day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

After hopping right off the Gobus, myself and a buddy checked in on the friday and were greeted a lovely friendly receptionist. We made our way to our 4-bed female ensuite dorm and packed away our stuff.

The place was spotless, the clientele were that bit older and every member of staff we came across went completely above and beyond.

Snoozles only loses the one star for price, but really that's just nitpicking. I'd happy reccomend this and stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi Creaghfish,
Thanks for your nice review – we are delighted you found us spotless and that you would recommend us. I’m sorry if you found us expensive - July weekends in Galway are extremely busy (on account of all the great festivals going on!) so accommodation is at a premium. Hopefully you will have the opportunity to stay with us again off peak. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castlebar, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2013

With very short notice we stayed here for our christmas party at and were very impressed with the helpfulness of the staff! the Hostel was very clean. its conveniently located beside the bus station, and its its quiet compared to other places in the city. I have stayed in a good few hostels over the years and i have to say this was one of the nicest. the Dorms are clean and beds were comfortable and had a good nights sleep. we also stayed here in February

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank staticsteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi Static Steve,
Thanks for the great review and the 5/5 rating across all 6 categories! We are glad you found our location convenient and our staff to be helpful! Maybe we will see you again next Christmas? You know where we are!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2013

I really loved the staff and the location of this hostel. Rooms were in pretty good condition but the bathroom was a little rough: nothing to worry about though! There's a lot of space to hang out in the hostel; which is pretty cool. Breakfast was great. Price was very good! Draws a lot of Americans though, for those wanting to meet more Irish/Europeans, I wouldn't recommend this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi KatieM,
Thank your review. We are delighted you loved us and our location. I’m not sure what you mean by the bathroom was a little rough but I’m glad it was only a minor issue. We always have a great mix of guests staying with us – most of our guests are actually European. I guess it just depends on the night in question who is actually staying! We hope you had a safe onward journey and hope to see you again when you return to Ireland.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 June 2013

A group of 12 lads jus stayd there for the weekend.. the 2 girls on reception were so nice. they could not have been more helpful. i can not speak highly enough of them.. always had a smile on there face, kind, welcoming.. so soo nice.. Very good location also as its close to bars and shops nightlife, bus station etc.. Clean and tidy. very relaxed place and always has a good buzz. The 2 ladies were fantastic so again. a big thank you to them.. highly recomend this hostel.. Regards Marty!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martybeattie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi Marty!
Thank you for your great review and for the 5/5 in all categories! It was great to meet you all and we’re glad we helped make your weekend memorable! Best of luck with the wedding – we hope to see you all again soon :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, UK
Level Contributor
76 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2013

11 lads on a trip to Galway to celebrate a few 30th birthdays. To be honest, gone are the days of hostel weekends away and I was not overly looking forward to staying in a hostel called Snoozles! However this place was excellent. Modern, clean and very friendly staff. The place was ideal for us. The shower and bathroom was very clean and the beds were comfy enough for what we needed. It had a very well stocked vending machine in the main lobby which was great after a late night!
Would have no reservations recommending this, and for thirty euros a night it was great great value.
Location was ideal too. About a 7 minute walk from the main part of the city....but far enough way not to be too noisy when we returned and wanted to sleep!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HatStephens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SnoozlesHostel, General Manager at Snoozles Hostel, responded to this review, 28 August 2013
Hi HatStephens,

Thank you very much for your review – I’m glad that despite being somewhat apprehensive initially, you found us to be excellent! We appreciate your 5/5 rating for all 6 categories and we are delighted you would recommend us to your friends. It’s very re-assuring to hear that from a Tripadvisor Senior Contributor. We look forward to having you stay with us again – hopefully before the 40th birthdays come round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,679 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#18 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 845 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel & Spa, Galway
0.2 mi away
Kinlay Hostel Galway
Kinlay Hostel Galway
#1 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
0.3 mi away
Savoy Hostel
Savoy Hostel
#3 of 50 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snoozles Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snoozles Hostel

Property: Snoozles Hostel
Address: Forster Street, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Speciality Lodging in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Snoozles Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Snoozles Hostel is a multi award-winning purpose-built hostel in the heart of Galway City. Our accommodation range includes dorms for 10, 6 or 4 guests along with double, single and twin rooms, female only dorms and family rooms - and every room is en-suite. Snoozles staff are friendly and informative and will give you all the tips on how to make the most of your time in the west. Ideally located in a semi residential area, beside Galway's City coach station yet only seconds walk from Eyre Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Snoozles Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing