We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family break in galway”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Glasan Holiday Village
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Galway
kerry
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Family break in galway”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We stayed at glasan from Tuesday to Sunday. House large and spacious, nice well kept greens outside with picnic benches scattered around. We had a few issues but these were quickly seen to resulting in a very pleasant stay, kitchen and lounge furniture very basic and well worn but you get what you pay for I guess! Ideal for a family, kids delighted with their own rooms & desks, super valu shop within walking distance. Would rebook again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank familytravellerkerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasan, Manager at Glasan Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of Glasan Holiday Village.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Do not hesitate in contacting me if you require any further assistance,


Kind Regards,
Olivia O'Brien
Operations Manager
091 397404
oobrien@glasan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    15
    5
    7
    5
See reviews for
28
2
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Staff were very friendly. I had one extra child and they had no difficulty with us bringing our own camp bed into the house. I was then worried that there wouldn't be enough space for us. I was wrong. The house was a great size. The pictures don't actually do it justice. Two single rooms have plenty of space for an extra camp bed and the upstairs room is huge. Only draw back is the no double bed available. The playground was a let down but i suppose it is primarily student accommodation. The kitchen is usable but there is little or no counter top to use. Bottom line is that for the price we paid in the height of the summer season we would return in the future. House was clean on arrival. My only gripe is that on our first day we requested that the upstairs bedroom windows be locked as they were not child friendly. I'm still waiting for this to be done and we left yesterday!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Our only other request was for extra pillows and we got them the same day. It is no really walk-able to a good pub or restaurant but taxis are easily got.

Room Tip: Houses down the back would be best as we were at the front so all traffic passes by at all hours.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Just back from a weekend stay. Had a great time with my husband and 2 small kids. The house we stayed in was very clean and comfortable. Lovely clean bedlinen and towels. The house had everything we needed for our stay. There was a new play area which the kids loved. They also had soccer/tennis courts and even supplied the balls and rackets. Well maintained large green landscaped areas with new benches which really enhance the area. Will definitely be back for another stay. Great value for money.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasan, Manager at Glasan Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your review of Glasan Holiday Village.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Do not hesitate in contacting me if you require any further assistance,


Kind Regards,
Olivia O'Brien
Operations Manager
091 397404
oobrien@glasan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Recently took a small tour around Galway and Clare - west coast of Ireland (which is fab btw!) we staye here as it was a good base with 2 young kids. it's located on the outskirts of Galway city so close to the motorway and with good access to the city by bus or car. The Village campus is clean, and has kiddie play area which enhances the place an kid friendly. The house we stayed in was clean, spacious an fully equipped for our needs an we were able to cook and not spend a fortune eating out all of the time. Overall goos space and the booking was easy and efficient.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank insert-here
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasan, Manager at Glasan Holiday Village, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest.,

Many thanks for your review of Glasan Holiday Village.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back in the future.

Do not hesitate in contacting me if you require any further assistance,


Kind Regards,
Olivia O'Brien
Operations Manager
091 397404
oobrien@glasan.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2014

I was required to reside here during my three months abroad. I was grateful for the tight security because there were enough troublemakers living there in the first place. Thursday nights were incredibly loud as first-years would run wild singing and yelling. There was at least one attempt at stealing my bike which I had locked up in the supplied bike shelter. At least weekends were quiet when all the kids went home to mum and dad. Glasan had to call student meetings for misbehavior, but this still didn't solve problems. There were no enforceable rules about smoking indoors, so my roommates often did drugs and stank up the apartment.
I understand that this is a student residence and distractions like this are not out of the ordinary, but if you are attending GMIT, try to live off-campus for a good night's sleep.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Casey P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Galway hotels

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for a few weeks but had to move out as security was my main issue. They were very strict with security and needed id to get in past the front gate at night. This is understandable, I know ye do not want everyone staying but found the security guards quite rude also. I could never have friends over as they would not be allowed in unless they hopped the wall at the back. Nice houses and location.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolidayReviewer2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 August 2013 via mobile

I rang and spoke to The manager Olivia before we booked.I informed Olivia of our needs regarding the assistance dog and our 2 young girls with Autism.We were given our own kind of cul de sac so no traffic would pass us, easy access to main bins to dump our rubbish and recycling.Parking was right outside our door. Our house was spotless with clean crisp bedding and towelling. When we arrived a bulb was gone and we needed more pillows, minor issues obviously but my point being on the Sunday when I brought it to their attention it was sorted within a half hour .Free fast wi fi which was ideal for our girls who rely on their I pads due to their special needs and laptops for us mums who needed it for our sanity :-) The outside area was very well maintained and pleasant to view out our sitting room windows which left in loads of light.The girls had a ball. I would definitely return again. Any parent with kids with special needs I would seriously recommend Glasan but I would recommend ringing ahead and informing them of your circumstances and if you have any reasonable requests they will move hell and high water to accommodate you. We had a lovely stay.Thank you to all the staff .Yvonne

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Yvonne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
1.4 mi away
Nox Hotel
Nox Hotel
#9 of 45 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 419 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,480 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
The Western Hotel
The Western Hotel
#19 of 45 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 847 reviews
3.5 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,048 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Moytura House B&B
#84 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 31 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glasan Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glasan Holiday Village

Property: Glasan Holiday Village
Address: Ballybane Road | Galsan, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 45 Hotels in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Glasan Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 193
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Why Glasan? Literally everything required for a self-catering holiday is provided in Glasan. Each unit contains Fully equipped kitchen including - crockery, cutlery and cooking utensils. Tea/Coffee facilities. Microwave, Iron and Ironing Board. Fridge Multichannel TV. Bathroom and ensuite bathrooms. Toiletries in each unit, freshly laundered linen and towels. Ample storage space. FREE WIFI. We are a no frills / budget accommodation service provider.Facilities also include Reception, Shop, Launderette, Large Green area, Tennis/Soccer court, Security Patrols (outside of office hours) 24 Hour CCTV. Glasan Village is situated in a prime location on the outskirts of Galway, just ten minutes from the city centre just opposite the Galway Mayo Institute of Technology and an excellent base for holiday makers looking for day trips / excursions.With the renowned Galway Races and the Galway Arts Festival. Galway City is the Gateway to Beautiful Connemara, the Burren and the unique Aran Islands. Each unit is provided with a '"'Galway Brochure'"' outlining the many areas of interest with details of attractions close by and the many festivals taking place locally. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Glasan Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing