We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to beach & promenade”
Review of Sunrise Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Lodge
Ranked #8 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
County Meath, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Close to beach & promenade”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Greeted by a fussy owner, Mr. Peter Cunningham, over where to park, we found the room small but comfortable, overlooking his back yard. We were asked immediately what we would like for breakfast! The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was ok though the "hot" breakfast could have been hot! At least our host put my wife's suitcase in the car for her as I was at a meeting the following morning.

Room Tip: Look for a front room and be sure of how you park your car!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    49
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
125
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms, welcoming hosts and a great view over Galway bay. What more do you need ??? There's parking space immediately in front and easy walking to the local bars and restaurants on Salthill. We got the bus into Galway centre which is close by and every 20 minutes.
Thank you for having us. We will be back :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scallywag1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-sebastien, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A good location and an attentive host but some minor niggles. First the positives: very clean throughout and pleasantly furnished. There was an excellent choice of fare for breakfast including the cooked option. Access to Salthill and Galway is quite easy although I would advise the bus to the city centre (every 20 minutes). The negatives: adding 1% surcharge when paying with a card is mean; there is no provision for smokers who have to stand outside in the road; finally, a room at the back overlooking neighbours' houses is pretty uninteresting.

Room Tip: At the front you probably have a good view over Galway Bay;
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Sunrise Lodge B&B in Salthill (Galway), Ireland. The owner Peter was very welcoming and most helpful, also his wife Joan. The rooms were comfortable and my relatives had a balcony and view to the ocean. There was the promenade across the street, very popular and we also had some nice weather to walk it. A short walk to many wonderful restaurants and the popular pub. Also within 15 walking distance to downtown Galway. Would stay there again if I was lucky enough to visit Ireland again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

I don't know but I had such high expectations when we booked to stay here. Not sure what the hype is. Here is what I found:

1. Yes it is walkable to Salthill- not far at all. But as far as Galway walking distance, I found it a bit far to walk. And in a city so susceptible to rain, it was hard sometimes and we did need to resort to a taxi. It is only 15 minutes but it seemed further for some reason so if you want to be in Galway city center, this is not the place for you.

2. If you have a rental car it is nice bc there is complimentary onsite parking.

3. Our room on second floor was super small. I don't know if it is bc we had just stayed in a nice size room in a Doolin B&B and this place was tiny compared to it. But really besides the double bed, there is not much room for two people to walk or spread their suitcases (and we had small suitcases).

4. One thing we found to be not so nice was that in the bathroom the clean towels were stored on top of the toilet.

5. In the morning at breakfast, my husband received two eggs and I received one. Wasn't sure if that was intentional but I would have liked 2 eggs too :) I felt uncomfortable asking about it since I wasn't sure if it was intentional or not.

All in all, it is a clean space to stay in but I don't think we would stay here again if we were to be in Galway. Galway is a great city to visit though. We had a wonderful time here.

Room Tip: The second floor room in front of the B&B is small. Maybe ask for different room that is bigger...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank sharvuda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dumbarton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
145 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

all of the houses in the street are all purpose built b&bs, our room had a wonderful view over Galway Bay and a shared balcony. the room was well appointed and the breakfasts were very good. you can walk into Galway city centre in less that 15 minutes and, in the opposite direction, you can walk to Salthill in less that 5 minutes.

Room Tip: ask for one of the front rooms to enjoy the wonderful view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2013

Stayed for 2 nights while traveling around Ireland with my sister. Our room was spacious and clean and the living/dining rooms were very comfortable. For breakfast there was a nice variety of hot meals, homemade breads and a buffet with a lot of different options. The food was wonderful. The real treat thought was the owners, Peadar and Joan. The were so warm and friendly and accommodated our every need. The location was perfect for us. It's about a 10 minute walk into Galway center and right across the street from the water. It also has parking on site. Once we parked we left our car and walked everywhere.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NJB-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,924 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,131 reviews
0.9 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,785 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 188 in Galway
81 reviews
1.4 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 188 in Galway
678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Lodge

Property: Sunrise Lodge
Address: Sunrise Lodge 3 Ocean Wave | Dr. Colohan Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing