We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Immaculate establishment right across from the water”
Review of Sunrise Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sunrise Lodge
Ranked #9 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Immaculate establishment right across from the water”
Reviewed 5 April 2014 via mobile

I loved everything about this B&B! The bright red carpet and owners greet you as soon as u arrive with a smile! The best pressed coffee we had on our trip! The details and decor at this place are so beautiful and clean! They must spend every waking hour cleaning as there is not a spot of dust anywhere in this place! The rooms are small but that's to be expected. The breakfast is excellent and the dining area is beautiful with a view of their backyard garden area. The sitting room is perfect for catching the free WiFi. The owner so graciously offered me some delicious smooth Irish whiskey one evening while I was browsing the internet. You are close to city centre to walk around. A must do is the Aria restaurant by The water and Spanish Arches make a reservation or you will never get in. Also the owners can get u a free BUS into town with Lally tours if you are doing The Cliffs of Moher. Skip Aillwee Caves and see the farm instead in the tour the caves were short and boring unless u have young kids who might enjoy the dark dank caves.
This B&B was perfect location, incredibly clean, across the street from a beautiful walk along the water to stroll into town only takes 12min by foot! This was a GREAT price for a great B&B , I only wish we could have stayed longer!!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Kerri2tj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    165
    49
    11
    1
    0
See reviews for
50
125
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Stayed on 12th March. Pat showed us to our rooms with great views over the Bay. Lovely rooms with good wi-fi. Ony 10 mins walk into the delights of Galway. Great breakfast and great hosts! Great valu supermarket 5 mins away on walk into town

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TONY H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 March 2014

The Sunrise Lodge is a great choice! I have stayed there with my two friends last weekend. Excellent location and views, the house is VERY clean and tidy and the owners are friendly and helpful. I would recommend it to everyone!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KKNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
County Meath, Ireland
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Greeted by a fussy owner, Mr. Peter Cunningham, over where to park, we found the room small but comfortable, overlooking his back yard. We were asked immediately what we would like for breakfast! The bed was comfortable and we had a good night's sleep. Breakfast was ok though the "hot" breakfast could have been hot! At least our host put my wife's suitcase in the car for her as I was at a meeting the following morning.

Room Tip: Look for a front room and be sure of how you park your car!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RetireeOldcastle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knaresborough, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely rooms, welcoming hosts and a great view over Galway bay. What more do you need ??? There's parking space immediately in front and easy walking to the local bars and restaurants on Salthill. We got the bus into Galway centre which is close by and every 20 minutes.
Thank you for having us. We will be back :)

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank scallywag1110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-sebastien, France
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

A good location and an attentive host but some minor niggles. First the positives: very clean throughout and pleasantly furnished. There was an excellent choice of fare for breakfast including the cooked option. Access to Salthill and Galway is quite easy although I would advise the bus to the city centre (every 20 minutes). The negatives: adding 1% surcharge when paying with a card is mean; there is no provision for smokers who have to stand outside in the road; finally, a room at the back overlooking neighbours' houses is pretty uninteresting.

Room Tip: At the front you probably have a good view over Galway Bay;
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Sunrise Lodge B&B in Salthill (Galway), Ireland. The owner Peter was very welcoming and most helpful, also his wife Joan. The rooms were comfortable and my relatives had a balcony and view to the ocean. There was the promenade across the street, very popular and we also had some nice weather to walk it. A short walk to many wonderful restaurants and the popular pub. Also within 15 walking distance to downtown Galway. Would stay there again if I was lucky enough to visit Ireland again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitreisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 46 in Galway
1,920 reviews
0.8 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
3,121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
2,507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,780 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#16 of 188 in Galway
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Lodge

Property: Sunrise Lodge
Address: Sunrise Lodge 3 Ocean Wave | Dr. Colohan Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Sunrise Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing