We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Better than any hotel we will be back”
Review of Coolin House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Coolin House B&B
Ranked #102 of 188 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 8 August 2011

Stayed for one night while we attended a wedding in a nearby hotel. Beautiful house, fantastic breakfast; Marions homemade bread is out of this world. We hope to return very soon.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LauraWilliam2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (36)
There are newer reviews for Coolin House B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 36 reviews

Reviewed 17 May 2011

Had the pleasure of staying here while on our side trip to Galway. Marian is a fantastic hostess: the rooms are very comfortable and the freshly-cooked Irish breakfast was great (don't pass up the HOMEMADE brown bread!). For anyone into outdoor sports, talk to the man of the house: he gave me some great ideas for hiking and fishing in nearby Connemara. Short stroll from the beach and golf course, and a short ride into the city for great shopping, cafes, and nightlife. If ever in Galway, do not pass this place up!

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scbust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Arrived without a booking and Marion was very welcoming. Our room was small but newly renovated and beautifully clean. Our shower was postage stamp size but our friends had a full size bathroom. We walked into town; a good walk along the beach promenade. The breakfast was cooked to order and could not be faulted. Stay again anytime.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Collabri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2010

The Coolin House is my home away from home! Spacious, clean, cozy, with excellent food, and a friendly atmosphere. Marian is a wonderful host. When I arrived, she offered me a grand cup of tea and lovely homemade brown bread! I honestly felt like family. She and Tommy were always ready to provide me with information about Galway and nearby areas. Definitely the best b&b I've stayed in during my stay in Ireland!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nmshortt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2010

We stayed here for a wedding at a local hotel and have to say the rooms were very nice, nicely decorated and up to date.

Breakfast was also delicious and the host was very pleasant.

Cant fault this place :D

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mayhem3114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We visited Galway City recently for the Volvo Ocean race. The race spent a week in Galway City. We stayed at Coolin House in Salthill. We had the most wonderful view of Galway Bay. We could see the boats as we walked along the Promenade to the centre of Salthill.
Coolin House was a great place to stay. We could come and go and have a coffee as we wished. The owners were very welcoming and gave us lots on advise on what to see while in Galway. The breakfast was a real home cooked meal with a great selection to choose from. We will certainly recommend it to friends.
Galway is a great city to visit and with the Volvo race there, every place was buzzing.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2009

We visited Galway recently and stayed at Coolin House B&B in Salthill.
The B&B is right beside the Promenade. There is the most wonderful walk into the centre of Salthill. Coolin House has been recently refurbished. The rooms are spacious, bright and airy. The breakfast was the best home cooked breakfast we had in a long time.
The lady in the house was very helpful in helping us organise out day trip of Connemara.
It is also on the bus route, which we took for a visit into Galway City centre.
We really were made feel welcome in Coolin House. I was like a home away from home.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IrishCathal2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
Salthill Hotel
Salthill Hotel
#5 of 46 in Galway
2,562 reviews
0.3 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,192 reviews
0.1 mi away
Anno Santo
Anno Santo
#37 of 46 in Galway
102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 188 in Galway
230 reviews
0.6 mi away
Jameson Court Apartments
6.9 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coolin House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coolin House B&B

Address: Coolin House 11 Seamount | Threadneedle Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 188 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing