We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Irish Hospitality”
Review of Prague House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prague House
Ranked #12 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Charlie and Mary have a wonderful home and were so welcoming. In the heart of the city, it is a great place to stay. The breakfast was wonderful, especially the home made brown bread! The breakfast room was full of travelers sharing their trips and stories. I shall return.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Erin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

95 - 101 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2014

Stayed here with my wife and 2 sons in July. Mary and Charlie welcome you like old friends. Rooms were clean and comfy. Breakfast was great especially Mary's brown bread and the great Irish butter. it's on a busy street but that wasn't a problem. 5-10 minute walk into town and Salthill prom. Wish we stayed longer. Take their restaurant recommendations the places were great.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank dvinnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We have had the opportunity to stay at this B&B for 2 yrs now and it just gets better and better, Charlie is a sports guy and a heck of a friendly, and funny gent. Mary is awesome in her ability to set up on the best tour or trip you have ever had, the House is clean and the breakfast's Charlie cooks are out of this world. It doesn't get any better.

Room Tip: all rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank farmer46554
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Spent two nights here. It's about a 10 minute walk to the Quay pedestrian area, and 15 to the Salthill area. Mary is a great host. You feel very welcome there. Nice selection for breakfast. The room was comfortable. My only complaint would be being in a front room, we were right on the street and with a window open it could get noisy.

Room Tip: Try to be away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank laxjunkies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and were very pleased. The room was comfortable, the wifi worked fine and the hosts were friendly and knowledgeable. Breakfasts were some of the best of the trip. The location was perfect for us - just far enough from the noise of central Galway to enjoy a good night's sleep, but a very quick walk to restaurants, pubs, etc. Would certainly recommend it!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RandBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

My wife and I stayed here from one night and felt right at home. Happily it is located a short walk away from the touristy center of Galway--so it is quiet yet shops and restaurants and the river and all are easy to reach in minutes by foot. The room was very comfortable and the breakfast was very good indeed. Mary, the proprietress, is wonderful: friendly, helpful, informative, a dynamic soul. I recommend it without hesitation.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank BK1822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2014

This b&b is in a great location, literally a few minutes walk from Galway city center and right across the the street from a Supervalu (grocery store). We booked the entire upstairs for 2 nights in December 2013 and had a wonderful stay. I wanted to stay here again next week but they were fully booked. We will definitely be staying here again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank cassiej25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,027 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,855 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,744 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,241 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 189 in Galway
703 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 189 in Galway
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague House

Address: Prague House 40 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £27 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praguehouse is situated in a prime location,just a short stroll to the cobbled stoned Quay St, where you can sample the best cuisine from many countries, also just a five minute walk from the beach and the long promenade walk in Salthill. You can visit Connemara, the Burren and Cliffs of Moher from here by car, or you can be picked up at the door by a tour company and dropped back again in the evening for any of these tours. There is a stop for the Aran Island just across the Street from Prague house, where the Shuttle bus will pick you up. For breakfast we supply plenty of healthy cereals, fruit yogurt, pancakes, homemade health bread, scones, and of course an Irish breakfast is also available, we also have vegetarian options available. We have a very relaxed homely atmosphere, and looking forward to welcoming you to Praguehouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prague House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing