We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, lovely, lovely!”
Review of Prague House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Galway
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prague House
Ranked #14 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2009

My friend and I stayed at the Prague House for four nights and felt like we were visiting family. Mary and Charlie were wonderful and so very sweet and helpful - went above and beyond what I would expect of any hosts. This B&B is located only 2 scenic blocks from the main area of shops, pubs, and restaurants. Everything was clean and lovely, information was readily available, and Mary's Irish breakfast was delicious! It was a wonderful experience and I will most definitely be staying there on my next visit to Galway.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEWright
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (391)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 391 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2009

As everyone else said perfect location, close to town but quiet at night. Mary and Charles were super hosts. Always ready to talk about where to go and how to get there, pubs for good music, local history. Mary was great at slolving problems for us, too. Helped us pay our Dublin road toll on her PC and phoned round and found the right place for us to go quickly and get a flat fixed. This place is a real gem! Wonderful fresh fruit as well as Irish breakfast

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hannahruthelin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2009

My husband and I stayed at the Prague House B&B for 3 nights in July and it was perfect for us. It took us five minutes to walk into town, which was great so we didn't have to take a cab or bus. Mary, the owner, was so accomodating because she recommended tours for us, called the companies, and they picked us up right out front after breakfast! It was so perfect because there was so hassle.
The rooms were very clean and dining room was very nice. The breakfast was delicious and Mary did an excellent job meeting everyone's needs. I asked for coffee and Mary gave me my own coffee press! It was great! We also got our own basket of toast, and traditional Irish breakfast. There was also fresh fruit, granola, and yogurt on a table where you helped yourself.
Each morning Mary would inquire about everyone's stay and recommended different places to go/eat.
Mary also was so kind to drive us to the bus station with all our luggage, which we were so grateful for. When it was time to leave, it was like saying goodbye to a family member because Mary was so genuinley kind to us.
We definitely recommend the Prague House B&B to anyone staying in Galway!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank caitlinsPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2009

We spent two nights at Prague House in July. Our Hostess was absolutely lovely. She was very helpfull, cheerfull and friendly. We liked the clean room, parking, great central location and the good breakfast that was included. There was no real minuses but considerations could be that the house is next to busy street (but we were not disturbed) and that the rooms and facilities are quite basic (but sufficient and clean).

All in all we had a nice stay at the Prague House.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brasuni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2009

Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
2  Thank labongio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2009

We arrived at Prague House around 10:00 after an hours drive from Shannon airport. Although check-in wasn't supposed to be until afternoon, Mary welcomed us warmly and let us park our car in the lot until our rooms were ready. After finding out that we had just arrived that morning from the US she graciously offered us some cereal, juice and coffee. Mary goes above and beyond to meet her guests needs. We stayed in three different B&B's during our trip. All were lovely, but Mary was the only hostess who took the time to remember our and our teenage daughters' names.

Galway is a beautiful little town and is a very good base for visiting the Cliffs of Moher, The Burren, Connemara, and other western points of interest. The center of town has a lot to offer including shopping, restaurants and a very lively pub scene. Go to McDonough's for THE BEST fish n' chips.

TIP: If you are renting a car you must splurge on a GPS. You will not regret it. There are virtually no street signs in Ireland. If a road is marked it is with a hard to find plate on a building or wall.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpslas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2009

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank snapperblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.4 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,034 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#2 of 46 in Galway
2,859 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Galway Bay Hotel
Galway Bay Hotel
#4 of 46 in Galway
3,243 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 189 in Galway
705 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunrise Lodge
Sunrise Lodge
#8 of 189 in Galway
234 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prague House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prague House

Address: Prague House 40 Father Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £27 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Praguehouse is situated in a prime location,just a short stroll to the cobbled stoned Quay St, where you can sample the best cuisine from many countries, also just a five minute walk from the beach and the long promenade walk in Salthill. You can visit Connemara, the Burren and Cliffs of Moher from here by car, or you can be picked up at the door by a tour company and dropped back again in the evening for any of these tours. There is a stop for the Aran Island just across the Street from Prague house, where the Shuttle bus will pick you up. For breakfast we supply plenty of healthy cereals, fruit yogurt, pancakes, homemade health bread, scones, and of course an Irish breakfast is also available, we also have vegetarian options available. We have a very relaxed homely atmosphere, and looking forward to welcoming you to Praguehouse. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Prague House Hotel Galway

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing