We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good location for Salthill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Amber Heights Guesthouse
Ranked #75 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 18 August 2013

We attended a wedding in Galway and booked this B & B for our selfs and parents.the rooms were clean fresh towels everyday. A good selection of food for breakfast including an Irish cooked breakfast! The staff were friendly and hard working the only down side it is very expensive for the accomodation 320 Euros for 3 nights! The rooms had none of the usual vanity packs and little bottles of essentials! The TV was very small, shower poor run around to get wet ......once you had spent 10 mins getting the water just right. Plus point there was free Internet...... Would I stay again probably not allot of money for what was on offer....... However we came to attend a wedding at the Galway Bay Hotel and we had a fantastic time with the family.

Room Tip: Rooms I did see all seemed the same
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Larkowsky123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Sir,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and we will certainly strive to improve what you have requested and take your comments on board. Your feedback is very valuable to us.

The reason our prices were quite high is because it was the Summer season, when we are at our busiest. Unfortunately this couldn't be helped.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2013

We rented the two bedroom apartment behind the main building. On a positive note, the staff was wonderful and very accomodating. The breakfast was good. These were the bright sides and what prevented this from being rated terrible. The apartment however was tired and worn looking.The shower was tiny and had an electrical control box in it! The switch on the wall had to be turned on and then the the box in the shower had to be powered on while taking a shower. My husband did use the shower, but for me electricity and water do not mix. (Perhaps this a common feature in Ireland, but we had never seen one before)The washer and dryer were one unit. Thank goodness, the staff allowed us to use the main dryer. So we just used the apartment one for washing. Still it took "FOUR HOURS" to wash 2 batches of clothes - and we used the shorter settings. We started at 7pm and took the clothes out and rinsed by hand at 11pm. Another negative was that the finish was peeling off the cabinets. There was mold by the front door. The sheets had rips. There was a wonderful 46-50 HD TV on the wall - however it only received analog channels. So much for the HD!

Room Tip: Perhaps look at the rooms inside the BandB until the apartment is updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AMP0907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and we will certainly strive to improve what you have requested and take your comments on board. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The room was TINY and loaded with pieces of furniture that were excessive, which made the room even more uncomfortable. The bathroom... was beyond small; If you have ever showered on a boat- consider THAT to be a huge shower compared to the one at Amber Heights. We wouldn't have cared about the tiny-everything if the price for the room wasn't the HIGHEST we paid in all of Ireland. The owner of this guest house (and the adjacent as well) is funding his retirement!!!

Room Tip: USE CAUTION-- if you are booked into the "attic" room and the weather is warm, you will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TigerSouthCarolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Sir/Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay, and we will certainly strive to improve what you have requested and take your comments on board. Your feedback is very valuable to us.

The reason our prices were quite high is because we are at our busiest in the Summer season, which means that prices are higher than usual. Unfortunately this could not be helped.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We had 2 nights at Amber Heights, found from doing a TripAdvisor search of B&B's in the area. The B&B is located near Salthill so you can walk to the area in around 20mins, we walked into Galway city aswell which took us about 30mins. There are bus stops very near if you want to use local transport. The B&B itself is well run, with a number of rooms with doubles, twins and family rooms. We had a twin with all the usual features; the room itself needed a bit of sprucing up as it was looking a liitle frayed around the edges. Look on the website for deals and promotions as we had a free breakfast offer over the stay. we had one person breakfast for free and the other breakfast was half price. The B&B rates can be based on just the rooms to make it cheaper. There was ample parking, and whilst over looking a busy thourough fare it was a quiet stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaryWylie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Mary,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We have since made improvements in rooms that needed sprucing up.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

We choose this B&B for price. It's a great value! Accommodations are home-like, not particularly fancy but clean and comfortable. We were driving and had a slight problem finding the place on our GPS. I view that as the GPS's issue and not an Amber Heights issue. I'm not sure if it's convenient by bus. We had a party of 6 and everyone in our group thought that it was the best breakfast that we had in Ireland! The service and friendliness of the staff was outstanding!

Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
Thank DrJaneMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We booked a family room (chalet ) at Amber heights for a night in Galway. The room was spotless and had a very convenient little kitchenette so you could self cater breakfast if you wish. It was really quiet over night. We had breakfast in the main house and there was a really excelllent choice of breads, pastries, freshfruit, juices cereals , youghuts and best of all a fabulous coffee machine for fresh capuccino / expresso etc. A very friendly and efficient waiter took our orders for a full breakfast - which was a little too large for our son . .. as the only Irish people present I was interested to see how the other tables were getting on and earwigged to French and German Tourists happily tucking in and enjoying their breakfasts. All seemed very happy. A great affordable overnight. I would certainly book again the next time I am invited to Galway for a party!

Room Tip: The Chalets were extremely quiet. only heard a Miaow from the cat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irishgourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2013

We enjoyed a memorable stay at Amber heights last year, taking our lead from tripadvisor reviews, we booked up and drove down from Belfast for a two night stay.

The Guesthouse is easy to find and well situated, the beach was about a 10 minute walk away. The room was spacious, spotlessly clean and reasonably tastefully decorated, definitely not tired but not quite cutting edge modern either.

The service during our stay was very affable and attentive, it made the say all the more enjoyable and chilled. The complimentary, ever ready coffee machine was an added bonus and the buffet breakfast was essentially all you could eat which set us up beautifully for the day - in particular for our blustery walk round the coast into Galway City.

On the downside the walls upstairs in the rooms afforded just a bit too much intrusive interaction with the other guests for our tastes, so when there was a drunken row one night. We noted the fact that the management didn't actually reside at the guesthouse and thus were not readily on call to diffuse the incident (Which continued for some time). Still disputes do happen, it is what it is.

Overall, we had a nice stay here. It was memorable and pleasant and suited our needs perfectly, we would go back. For a Guesthouse it was great and we recommend Amber Heights to others looking an affordable, adequate and affable venue to visit Salthill and Galway.

Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Geepopalolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonyGalway, Owner at Amber Heights Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear Madam,

We wish to thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor.
We’re delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Your feedback is very valuable to us. We now have staff at the B&B 24/7 who can be alerted should such incidents ever arise again.
We hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,
The Staff and Management at Amber B&B’s.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
6.5 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
839 reviews
3 mi away
Flannery's Hotel Galway
2.8 mi away
The Connacht Hotel
The Connacht Hotel
#21 of 46 in Galway
1,708 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Amber Hill Bed and Breakfast
0.7 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#15 of 189 in Galway
106 reviews
6.7 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amber Heights Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amber Heights Guesthouse

Address: 11 Cuan Glas, Bishop O'Donnell Rd, Galway, Ireland (Formerly Ashton House)
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £37 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amber Heights Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amber Heights is a newly renovated (APRIL 2011) purpose built Bed & Breakfast. Located just 10 minutes walk from Salthill and the beaches of Galway Bay. Amber Heights is the gateway to the west with easy access to the picturesque landscape of Connemara, Clifden and The Cliffs of Moher. 5 Minutes drive by car or taxi will bring you to the bustling heart of Galway City. We are sure you will not find a friendlier, cleaner, or well equipped bed and breakfast in Galway. Amber Heights is a Non-Smoking B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Amber Heights Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing