We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Forge House B&B
Ranked #50 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The location of this B&B is just great. You have to go only a few metres and are in the middle of the city center from Galway. The B&B itself has good and not so good things, but I think we just were unlucky with our room. We had the room directly after the entrance, so we heard everyone coming and going and every noise from the kitchen and the breakfast room. I think the rooms upstairs are better than that. For me it seemed that this room was made to have more rooms, but before it was some kind of storeroom.
The breakfast was great and Dolores very friendly. The price is with 27,5 Euro per person sharing really good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froschpapperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    24
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
14
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the Forge B&B for Valentine's weekend. The location was fantastic, near to the Spanish Arch and beach and just a few minutes walk over the bridge into the city centre. The breakfast was fantastic, best I've had outside my own house. Two sausages, two rasher, two eggs and toast, tea/coffee. Brilliant hangover soakage.

The place itself was full of memorabilia collected over the years. There are some very interesting pieces, paintings and photos in the kitchen. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be staying there the next time we visit Galway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed a few nights, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. A 2 minute walk to the town centre were there are good pubs and good food. The room was comfy with wooden floors so can get a bit noisy at times but others great. Loads of pictures/decor all over the house as well for you to look at 'maybe a bit cluttered in some areas'

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

The Forge is in a great location in Galway. The service was good but just not your over the top Irish hospitality that we experienced in other B&Bs. The house is clean but the owner was hardly there and seemed to pop in to let guests in to their rooms and cook breakfast and then wasn't around. Good location, okay service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pistoia, Italy
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 June 2011

The Forge House B&b is in a fantastic position! To get there by car you don't have to go through the city center traffic, then you can leave you car in the free parking (it's beside the building, in front of the recording studio) and just walk to arrive in the center of Galway in five minutes.
We've really appreciated the hospitality, nice room with all the comforts we needed and a delicious irish breakfast.
If you visit Galway, I suggest by my experience to keep in mind this B&b.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank a_sir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2011

Deloris and Bernard are great hosts. They are very friendly and more than willing to help make the best of your stay in Galway. Deloris set up a bus tour for my boyfriend and I to visit the cliffs. She cooked a delicious breakfast for us every morning and was accommodating to my vegetarian diet. The room we stayed in was very cute and relaxing. This b&b is in a prime location only about a 60 second walk from the city center. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hbcrabtree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here for three nights and were very warmly welcomed by Dolores and her family. The breakfasts were great and Dolores went out of her way to ensure we were comfortable. The place has lots of charm and character which makes it feel like a real Irish family home. The room was clean and tidy and was perefect for us. I would definitely recommend this place as it is conveniently located and run by some great people!

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElleChat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#28 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
0.8 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#25 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Donegan Court Aparthotel
Donegan Court Aparthotel
#31 of 53 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
0.2 mi away
Budget Apartments Galway
Budget Apartments Galway
#25 of 53 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge House B&B

Property: The Forge House B&B
Address: The Forge 42 New Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #50 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forge House B&B is a charming period house. It is ideally situated beside famous Irish music pubs, restaurants, theatre, University College, hospital and shopping areas. It has its own private car park and there is a TV in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Forge House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing