We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful stay!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Forge House B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Forge House B&B
Ranked #55 of 197 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2012

We recently stayed 2 nights while visiting Galway and found this B & B to be more than satisfactory. We were greeted by Bernard after a kind gentleman actually walked us to their location. We got some great info on good restaurants and pubs in the area. Later we met Dolores and she went out of her way to make us feel welcome and at ease. It was like staying with a family member. She gave us great tour advise and even booked a tour for us to have them pick us up in front of the B & B and worked out details with them to drop us at an alternate location on return. The first morning, she got the most delicious breakfast ready for us early so that we could catch an early tour bus to the Aran Islands. Their webpage indicated that the bus picked up at 0900 although it is truly 0930 and we felt bad that we had caused her this inconvenience. We should have listened to her and had a more relaxing morning and an extra half hour of sleep. :) The room we were given was large, very clean and comfortable. We got one of our best nights rest here. The breakfast every morning was fantastic with extra attention to detail. The location is very close to the city center and Spanish Arch area. Quay street offers great food and pubs. We enjoyed traditional Irish music and met many lovely people. We will definitely return again!

Room Tip: Let Dolores help you plan tours, she is awesome!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mikeandcar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    24
    10
    4
    0
See reviews for
13
37
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Azuga, Romania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2012

Great location for this B&B, just in the middle of everything, giving you a lot of options.
The host, I mean Dolores, was lovely. She always had a tip for me on what to do every day.She made me feel like home.
And the food...ohhh man, best breakfast I ever had. 10 out of 10 for the food.
In conclusion, great location, lovely host, amazing breakfast.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank alexserban0102
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed there with my friends last August for 2 nights. The room was very clean and nice. The location of this B&B was great. It was close to everything. I loved the rich breakfast and expecially the owners. Dolores rocks!!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Labrini C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

The location of this B&B is just great. You have to go only a few metres and are in the middle of the city center from Galway. The B&B itself has good and not so good things, but I think we just were unlucky with our room. We had the room directly after the entrance, so we heard everyone coming and going and every noise from the kitchen and the breakfast room. I think the rooms upstairs are better than that. For me it seemed that this room was made to have more rooms, but before it was some kind of storeroom.
The breakfast was great and Dolores very friendly. The price is with 27,5 Euro per person sharing really good.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank froschpapperl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Myself and my girlfriend stayed in the Forge B&B for Valentine's weekend. The location was fantastic, near to the Spanish Arch and beach and just a few minutes walk over the bridge into the city centre. The breakfast was fantastic, best I've had outside my own house. Two sausages, two rasher, two eggs and toast, tea/coffee. Brilliant hangover soakage.

The place itself was full of memorabilia collected over the years. There are some very interesting pieces, paintings and photos in the kitchen. The owners were extremely helpful and friendly. We'll definitely be staying there the next time we visit Galway.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed a few nights, great breakfast, friendly and helpful staff. A 2 minute walk to the town centre were there are good pubs and good food. The room was comfy with wooden floors so can get a bit noisy at times but others great. Loads of pictures/decor all over the house as well for you to look at 'maybe a bit cluttered in some areas'

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2011

The Forge is in a great location in Galway. The service was good but just not your over the top Irish hospitality that we experienced in other B&Bs. The house is clean but the owner was hardly there and seemed to pop in to let guests in to their rooms and cook breakfast and then wasn't around. Good location, okay service.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Phill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.2 mi away
Ash Grove House
Ash Grove House
#20 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Herons Rest Boutique Bed & Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Donegan Court Aparthotel
Donegan Court Aparthotel
#32 of 51 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#25 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
0.8 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#6 of 197 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 540 reviews
0.1 mi away
Desota House Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Forge House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Forge House B&B

Property: The Forge House B&B
Address: The Forge 42 New Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #55 of 197 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Forge House B&B is a charming period house. It is ideally situated beside famous Irish music pubs, restaurants, theatre, University College, hospital and shopping areas. It has its own private car park and there is a TV in all of the rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your The Forge House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing