We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You can do better”
Review of Holiday Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Holiday Hotel
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 May 2013

This hotel does not have an onsite restaurant nor an elevator. For the price they charge for a room, you would expect more. The room was very dated, sparse, and cramped. The bathroom door did not fully open before it hit the bed. I would not recommend this hotel unless yu want a hostel experience.

Room Tip: I would choose a different hotel for the price
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jblack49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (108)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 108 reviews

Reviewed 6 April 2013

Great hotel! Very personable and friendly owners. Great suggestions on nearby attractions. Location was good as it was a pretty short walk to city center and also nearby pubs and food. If you want to cab to city center its only about 6 euro. We are a young couple travelling.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 795EricW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Peter and Barbara were extremely helpful and friendly during our stay. Peter always greeted us by name and was always willing to answer questions or help in any way he could.

Hotel is in great location- beach and tons of restaurants are all in walking distance.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2012 via mobile

Just left the holiday hotel and we really enjoyed our stay here. Peter could not do enough for us and made us feel very welcome. He never forgot our names when we saw him each morning.and evening. The one thing I would say is the bar downstairs is a bit loud as people smoke in the hallway and noise from there is loud but would Definitely stay again as we were made very welcome

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank shoppingaroung
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012 via mobile

The hotel is centered in the Salthill area if Galway along the coast. It has wonderful views of the bay. Facilities are rustic in some places and modern in others, with old plumbing contrasting a nice sized flat screen TV. The staff was terrific, very friendly, helpful, and willing to go the extra mile. I would gladly stay there again, and plan to my next time through Galway.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Holzmd5e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Ulf J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 20 July 2012

Peter was great. He's super friendly. The hotel is quaint, and our room was spotless.
Not a "luxury" hotel, but perfectly acceptable and comfortable for an overnight stay. I would stay there again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Rooms upstsairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank steelerider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
2.3 mi away
Travelodge Galway
Travelodge Galway
#25 of 46 in Galway
712 reviews
1.6 mi away
Bunk Boutique Hostel Galway
6.1 mi away
The Coach House Hotel
The Coach House Hotel
#3 of 5 in Oranmore
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Ocean Crest  B&B
Ocean Crest B&B
#33 of 46 in Galway
133 reviews
0.6 mi away
Rockbarton Park Hotel
Rockbarton Park Hotel
#35 of 46 in Galway
52 reviews
6.1 mi away
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
Oranmore Lodge Hotel
#2 of 5 in Oranmore
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Hotel

Address: 181 Upper Salthill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 46 Hotels in Galway
Price Range: £34 - £88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Holiday Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 261
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Holiday Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing