We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hosts and good Location”
Review of Sli Na Mara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sli Na Mara
Ranked #20 of 185 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely hosts and good Location”
Reviewed 23 October 2013

I have been twice and I would definitively repeat. Rooms are very clean and comfortable. I strongly recommend the full irish breakfast. It was so delicious. Hosts are very kind and helpful. The location is very good, a quiet residential area at less than 15min from the city centre.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guillem C M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Guillem C M,

Thank you for your super review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and hope you continue this trend of visiting Galway!

Many thanks for telling us your thoughts and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    50
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
25
82
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

A friend and I stayed here for a couple of nights while we drove around the just about the whole country and could not have been more pleased. It was a very convenient walk into the city and our host directed me to a couple of the better pubs that were exactly what I was looking for. Would definitely stay there again if I'm lucky enough to go back to Ireland.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Javier P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Javier P,

Many thanks for your great review! We hope you can take an opportunity to come visit Ireland again soon. Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to tell us your thoughts!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Great hosts, very friendly and helpful (including tyre changing in the rain for America citizens struggling with right hand drives). Rooms cosy and clean. Solid Irish breakfast and only a short walk from town

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Altorro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Altorro,

Many thanks for your great review! We're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us here in Galway. The Tyre changing service surprisingly didn't take off, perhaps a we will offer a full NCT service come next season!

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and we hope to see you soon.

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2013

Stayed here for a couple nights for the Galway portion of our honeymoon, would definitely come back. Bridie was a wonderful hostess and makes a delicious Irish breakfast. You can walk to the ocean or to the center of Galway(find the doughnut guy). The rooms are beautiful, pristine, and after staying in the heart of Dublin the night before, noticeably quiet. Considering the races were happening the weekend we were there, the price was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Tom O,

Thank you for your super review! We are happy to hear you and your wife enjoyed your short stay with us in Galway. We will be sure to pass on your warm regards to the Doughnut Guy when we see him next!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WHITBY
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013

We only stayed one night, but it very nice. Clean and Modern rooms. Breakfast was very good! Location was a 5-10min walk to Quay Street which is a pedestrian street and the main area! Bridie was very welcoming and helpful! Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melandtom2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear melandtom2010,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Illinois
Level Contributor
159 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

This is a gem of a b & b. It is located just a 10 minute walk from the main part of Galway and it is an easy walk. Bridie and George are very warm and helpful people. We enjoyed talking to them. They are the perfect hosts in that they were there when you wanted them and not when you wanted to be on your own. The room we were in was very clean and breakfast was very good. Parking was easy. They can put three cars in their drive and there is ample street parking. The neighborhood is quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank treesprite07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear treesprite07,

Thank you for your great review! We are happy you enjoyed your stay with us in Galway and hope you come visit again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bern, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 11 September 2013

I stayed in the B&B for two weeks and it was just great. The rooms are clean, comfortable and nice and the bathroom is perfect as well. Family Thomson is very kind and helpful, and the breakfast is fantastic. The house is very good located, just a 5-10 minute walk to the city centre and even closer to the sea. I can fully recommend this B&B to everybody.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nadja R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 20 February 2014
Dear Nadja R,

Thank you for your kind words! We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back to Galway in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 185 in Galway
680 reviews
0.2 mi away
Adare Guesthouse
Adare Guesthouse
#35 of 185 in Galway
199 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griffin Lodge
Griffin Lodge
#33 of 185 in Galway
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Inishmore House
Inishmore House
#29 of 185 in Galway
160 reviews
1.2 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 185 in Galway
609 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Nest Boutique Hostel
The Nest Boutique Hostel
#17 of 185 in Galway
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sli Na Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sli Na Mara

Property: Sli Na Mara
Address: Sli Na Mara 9 Whitestrand Park | Fr. Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 185 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Galways's famous Promenade and the bustling city centre, Sli Na Mara offers comfort and a traditional Irish welcome to The City of the Tribes. A five minute stroll will take you to the heart of Galway city where sight seeing attractions, pubs and restaurants are plentiful. Sli Na Mara is perfect for those on business with its free Wi-Fi or those wishing to take advantage of all Galways has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sli Na Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing