We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcoming and thoughtful”
Review of Sli Na Mara

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Sli Na Mara
Ranked #20 of 187 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Welcoming and thoughtful”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Set in a housing estate undergoing renovations the small streets provided a parking challenge but the owners were thoughtful enough to let us park in their front yard with their own car on the street. The rooms were clean and bright and the beds very comfortable and warm. We had the top room, lit by a skylight with a bathroom across the hall which was exclusive to our room. A wall switch turned on a pump which ensured good water pressure for the bath/shower.
After one of our party expressed initial concern about the location and steep stairs we found the enthusiasm for Galway from Bridie and George to be a clincher in staying and it was a very good decision. Bridie was most helpful in booking taxis and reservations to see a fantastic cultural show at a nearby hotel, as well as suggesting routes to take on our drive to Connemara Park.
B&G couldn't have been more helpful and their hospitality was first class.

Room Tip: If you have difficulty with stairs that are on the steep and narrow side choose the first-floor room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roger P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Roger P,

Thank you for your great review!

We were delighted you decided to stay in Galway. Our town has much to offer in sights and sounds and I am happy you and your party had an opportunity to sample that during your time with us.

Many thanks again for your thoughts and we hope we see you again in the very near future!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    103
    50
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
26
82
20
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 May 2014

I stayed here for three nights in May, and the accommodations were wonderful. An easy walk into the main part of Galway, but far enough out on a side street for a quiet night's sleep. It's also very close to a Supervalu which was convenient for picking up snacks and bottled water for day trips.

Bridie and George were welcoming and were happy to offer tips on restaurants and things to do. The breakfast room was clean and the food was delicious. Overall, a great stay for the cost.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDi2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear LadyDi2525,

Thank you for your super review!

We were delighted to hear you enjoyed your time with us and your visit to Galway!

Again, many thanks for your review and we hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood, Oregon, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We 4 ladies spent 2 nights in 2 rooms in this charming B&B. We were an easy walk to pubs and music, which we really enjoyed. The hosts were very friendly and full of helpful information and suggestions. I would recommend a stay here if you're in Galway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pamela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Pamela D,

Thank you for your 5 star review!

It was a pleasure to look after you and your party during your time in Galway.

Thank you for your thoughts and we hope to see you again soon!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

I stayed here for 3 nights in March, and it was a fantastic stay. It was very easy to find. Upon arrival I was greeted by the owners who were extremely pleasant, and made room in their lot so I didn't have to park on the St. They gave me lots of advice of where to go and what to do to get around the city as it was the day before Paddys day,and the city was about to become mayhem. The room and the bathroom were very clean. Plenty of heat & hot water,the wifi worked great, and the breakfast was very good. I had to have a early departure one am, to which one of the owners got up very early to accommodate me. The price was also very reasonable. I will definitely stay here again when I return to Galway.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stevens281
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Stevens281,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your stay.

While Ireland in generally is a great place to be during St Patricks day, I think you'll agree Galway is a bit special when it comes to celebrating our national holiday!

Many thanks for your review and I hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

My partner and I stayed here over the busy saint paddys days weekend and it was good to be able to get away from the crowds. Its only a short walk to all the main attractions in Galway and to the waterfront. Great breakfast in the morning too!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKLC7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear JKLC7,

Thank you for your kind words and super review.

I was happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in Galway during St Patricks day and hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2014

My mother and I stayed at this B&B in mid-March. We found the rooms to be very comfortable and spacious, even by U.S. standards. Likewise, the rest of the building was comfortable, clean and George & Bridie went out of their way to make us feel comfortable. We would definitely stay here again, if we come to Galway. The distance from downtown was actually perfect. Just far enough away to make it feel calm and quiet, but close enough to only be a 5-10 minute walk. Thanks again for a great stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tydelforfeit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 21 June 2014
Dear Tydelforfeit,

Many thanks for your great review.

We were delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again in the near future!

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marsa Alam, Egypt
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Sli na mara is avery nice place to stay in as you visit Galway . it's very clean and tidy ,George and Bridie (owners) were very friendly and helpful ..... i spent there 9 comfortable nights preparing for an exam with no any Inconveniences ....... i definitely suggest this place.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohamed-Sharkawi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SliNaMara, Owner at Sli Na Mara, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Mohamed-Sharkawi,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review.

We were only too happy to have you stay with us and hope you had a chance to enjoy Galway between your study breaks!

Many thanks and all the best in your future studies and career.

Kind regards,

The Thomson Family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#8 of 45 in Galway
1,886 reviews
3.8 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,684 reviews
0.9 mi away
Park House Hotel
Park House Hotel
#1 of 45 in Galway
2,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Harbour Hotel Galway
Harbour Hotel Galway
#14 of 45 in Galway
1,447 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Residence Hotel
The Residence Hotel
#31 of 45 in Galway
41 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Stop B&B
The Stop B&B
#5 of 187 in Galway
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sli Na Mara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sli Na Mara

Property: Sli Na Mara
Address: Sli Na Mara 9 Whitestrand Park | Fr. Griffin Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 187 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located between Galways's famous Promenade and the bustling city centre, Sli Na Mara offers comfort and a traditional Irish welcome to The City of the Tribes. A five minute stroll will take you to the heart of Galway city where sight seeing attractions, pubs and restaurants are plentiful. Sli Na Mara is perfect for those on business with its free Wi-Fi or those wishing to take advantage of all Galways has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sli Na Mara reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing