We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely B&B, Gracious Innkeeper, Super View”
Review of Fourwinds Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fourwinds Lodge
Ranked #87 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Reviewed 19 September 2013

This B&B has a delightful sunroom looking out on a well-kept and inviting garden. Breakfast is served from this room; you can see Galway bay as you dine. There are a variety of breakfast options to choose from.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SoCal_Consultant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (86)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 86 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2013

We stayed July 2013. The innkeeper was kind, considerate, and very helpful. The house was lovely. We loved her sense of style. The breakfast was excellent. Although the weather was warm the week we were there, it cooled off at night.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

Nice bed-and-breakfast, The front of the home has a nice view of the bay, if you get a room in the back Yorkview is a trailer park a trailer park. It was a little noisy, we could hear the other guests walking around and talking while we were in our rooms, etc.....overall we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ksreich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2013

Booked here online for 2 nights but quit after one. The woman had the nerve to charge us 10 euro more because we didn't stay the second night. The room was very old, cramped and smelly. The room for breakfast was a glass conservatory and as hot as hell. The weather was pretty warm and the bedroom was hot. No fan was provided or offered. No top sheet on the bed, only a heavy doona. The bathroom was rubbish. The furniture ancient. The building looked like something out of "The Munsters".The only decent part was the flower garden. Don't stay here there are loads of other places to stay in Salthill.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lyroc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

I stayed at the Four winds recently, and it was fantastic, the location is great, just a stones throw away from the sea, and a beautiful building, and setting, the rooms are beautifully kept.
I was there with my other half, and we had an amazing stay, we were very welcome by Bernie and Jim the owners who were nothing but helpful and Bernie was so sweet to us both. Galway is not to be missed, with senic views, and a bustling night life. I will definatly be returning.

Room Tip: Dont miss Breakfast!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caroline l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

We just returned from 3 weeks in Ireland. I have to say that Fourwinds was a terrific place to call home for a few days. Friendly, clean and just ever so nice. We felt at home the moment we arrived. The gardens are just beautiful and a nice place to relax. What made it even better is that it was within walking distance to most anything.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Stayed here 21st july for 1 night, it is a lovely b n b, Bernie was very warm and welcoming. Our room was very nice on 2nd floor, it has all the usuals, hairdryer, tea making facilities, tv and ensuite. We had a great nights sleep, breakfast was very good and plenty to choose from. It is a 5 min taxi journey from salthill, i would recommend four winds and would stay again.

Room Tip: 2nd floor to back of b n b
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bopeep70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
7.6 mi away
Maldron Hotel Galway
Maldron Hotel Galway
#1 of 5 in Oranmore
1,153 reviews
2.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Galway
Jurys Inn Galway
#7 of 46 in Galway
2,147 reviews
2.8 mi away
The Galmont Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Westwood House Hotel
Westwood House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dangan
950 reviews
2 mi away
The Twelve Hotel
The Twelve Hotel
#1 of 1 in Barna
1,791 reviews
2.9 mi away
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
Glenlo Abbey Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bushypark
1,238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fourwinds Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fourwinds Lodge

Address: Gentian Hill, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Hotel Style:
Ranked #87 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fourwinds Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing