We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect little getaway”
Review of The Branches B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Branches B&B
Ranked #60 of 186 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect little getaway”
Reviewed 30 May 2012

From the beginning, this place was amazing! The owner was very hospitable and friendly and helped our every need. My friend and I stayed for two nights in a double bed. The room was cute and inviting. The breakfast included was very nice and worth it! The area was out of the center but there was a bus you could take every 15 mins no problem. You could also make it an adventure and walk there too. There was a convenience store and papa john's across the street for emergencies. The bus we took from Dublin airport dropped us off at the GMIT, a block from the B&B. Galway and this B&B was the perfect getaway for a couple college students.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 7Jess7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    27
    24
    8
    1
    1
See reviews for
15
25
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hamburg
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2012

I stayed at the Branches in March 2012 for two nights. It is true that the bedroom is really small
as well as the bathroom, but I felt that the owners were hospitable and interested. I had the bedroom to the garden so apart from some distant sound of the motorway which you can block out by closing the window, it was quiet.

There is a comfortable atmosphere in the house and you have the breakfast in a bright room
full of sunshine. The tables were decorated in loving detail and the breakfast was served freshly
and friendly.

If you like to stay close to the G.M.I.T it is perfectly located. There are also bus stations nearby.
If you want to go to the beach in Salthill it is rather distant if you do not have a car.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GalDub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Langley, Bc
Level Contributor
187 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2011

We spent two nights at the Branches. Our room had a double and a single bed in it, which left very little floor space. The double bed sagged so much that I could not sleep on it; I moved to the single. (Our friends had a double in their room that was firm.) The bathroom was tiny - a toilet and very small shower. The sink was in the bedroom. There were no towel racks anywhere. The bathroom had mold on the ceiling and in the shower. Breakfast was fine, but I would not stay here again. There are lots of other B&Bs on this street..... The owner was nice enough.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2010

we came, we saw, we left immediately.
not what i expected for €65 - could have stayed in a much nicer place (i.e. we stayed in the amazing limerick strand (hilton) the night after for £60)...i saw some good reviews before i booked it
We arrived to a house in a council estate in the middle of nowhere in Galway. "the wrong side of the tracks". The room was small, very pink, very dated and there was no ensuite.
The only saving grace were the owners - really nice and let us cancel without any fuss.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jeffmcbongo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gainesville, ga
Level Contributor
43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2010

Our host was very nice, offered a collection of dvd's for us to watch. Had a dvd player in the room. Room was standard size for a b & b. it was clean. Our host helped us with our luggage. We left very early so didnt have breakfast. Would stay here again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wildlphn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.6 mi away
Abacus Guest House
Abacus Guest House
#41 of 186 in Galway
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 284 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bayview House B&B
Bayview House B&B
#59 of 186 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
B&B Glenariff
B&B Glenariff
#64 of 186 in Galway
4.5 of 5 bubbles 39 reviews
2.1 mi away
Barnacles Hostel Galway
1.5 mi away
College Crest Guest House
College Crest Guest House
#37 of 186 in Galway
4.0 of 5 bubbles 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Branches B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Branches B&B

Property: The Branches B&B
Address: The Branches 13 Merlin Park Woodhaven | Merlin Park, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 186 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Branches B&B 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Branches B&B is highly approved by Ireland's leading bed and breakfast tourism guide books including Failte Ireland and Town & Country homes. We are situated in the city superb and just minutes from the heart of Galway city. Unrivaled for its quality shopping and street entertainment. It’s the perfect location to enjoy Galway’s theatres, pubs, restaurants. It is also an ideal base for touring Connemara, the Burren, Cliffs of Moher and the Aran Islands. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Travel Republic (UK) and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Branches B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing