We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Abbey Lodge Guesthouse
Ranked #21 of 189 Galway B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Had heard about this B&B from friends of mine who had stayed there early in the year and suggested we try it out when next in Galway. Was in Galway in March and fortunately they had a room available. Greeted by very friendly staff who could not do enough for us. Beautiful comfortable room with great shower. Very tastefully decorated and breakfast was super. Great location, walking distance to Eyre Square. Highly recommended.
M&J, Dublin

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1,302,277
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (147)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 147 reviews

Reviewed 16 April 2013

It is a lovely, very clean guesthouse. With comfortable beds, hot showers and smashing breakfasts in the morning..what more could you ask for! Its in a nice location and staff were very friendly and helpful. There was good parking facilities too and I would defiantly go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JhnB59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2013

My wife and I ended up staying at this Beautiful B&B when the one that we regularly stay in was full as our decision to go that weekend was last minute. I have to say we were very impressed at the detail that went into the recent refurbishment as we were informed when we commented on the place to the extremely friendly owner. Everything blends in well and our room was a nice size and a nice size shower. We also had a lovely freshly cooked breakfast with a choice of eggs, so much better than the rubbish churned out in most hotels. It's between a 10 & 15 min walk to Eyre Square which was also a great advantage and less than 5 mins to the Huntsman pub where they serve lovely food. I have to say that we couldn't fault this B&B in anyway and we both feel that this is the B&B we would like to stay in on any future visits to Galway. Well done to the owners on an excellent and tasteful refurbishment and we wish them well.
B & C from Dublin

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bcdubirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Me and my fiancée stayed her for one night on the 15 th March, the b&b is decorated to an extremely high standard with an excellent finish. Unfortunately I have no photos and the few that are on here must be from before it got renovated . Overall a lovely b&b with a feeling of class and friendlyness .

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cazwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2013

We stumbled upon this beautiful bed and breakfast and loved it.. He would highly recommended staying here, it is short walk to city center for shopping sights and dining. Rooms were beautifully newly renovated.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pecar525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2012

We recently stayed two nights at Abbey Lodge after literally running out of a filthy B&B down the road. The owner at Abbey Lodge was very nice and he even carried our bag to the last available room at the top of the house. The room was small and had only skylights for light - not windows - but it was clean and contained coffee/tea making facilities and a tv set. The bathroom fixtures were clean, worked well and looked quite new. Rooms on the lower floors appeared to be larger than ours. The location is good for walking to the city centre and the price was reasonable. We enjoyed the breakfast which was cooked to order - perhaps because we were there before the start of the tourist season. Good value if you are looking for basic, clean accommodation reasonably close to the city centre.

Room Tip: The rooms at the top of the house are small, so choose a room on a lower floor if you are claustroph...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cathy299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2012

The owner is very nice. We purchased this hotel room on Priceline. We paid the more expensive fee to get breakfast. When we arrived, she stated that we did not have breakfast. I do not think it was her fault, I believe Priceline made a mistake, but we paid a little more and could not prove it. She was very nice and offered to make us toast in the morning. We were honestly a bit disappointed with the room. It was rather small and did not have any decor. The tea maker was a bit dirty, but it was a nice bed and breakfast, just lacked the personal touches in the room. Also, in the bathroom there was an industrial toilet paper dispenser which was a bit odd. Also, the windows were lacking soundproofing so we could hear the road really loudly when a car would pass. Also, the vent in the bathroom was making a loud noise from the wind.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that does not face the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank een7508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Galway hotels
0.3 mi away
St. Jude's Lodge
St. Jude's Lodge
#7 of 189 in Galway
755 reviews
1.3 mi away
Almara House
Almara House
#11 of 189 in Galway
301 reviews
0.8 mi away
Abacus Guest House
Abacus Guest House
#32 of 189 in Galway
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Abbeyville Bed & Breakfast
1.5 mi away
Sli Na Mara
Sli Na Mara
#24 of 189 in Galway
172 reviews
2.9 mi away
Abbey View
Abbey View
#12 of 189 in Galway
218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Abbey Lodge Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Lodge Guesthouse

Address: Abbey Lodge 1 The Stable | College Road, Galway, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Western Ireland > Province of Connacht > County Galway > Galway
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 189 B&Bs / Inns in Galway
Price Range: £86 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Abbey Lodge Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Abbey Lodge was professionally deigned by an award winning interior designer and will be your luxury home away from home during your stay in Galway city. Just a few minutes walk to Eyre Square, the centre and hub of Galway city. All amenities are close by with the award winning restaurant The Huntsman just 2 minutes away and the famous Connacht Rugby stadium on your doorstep. Whether you're coming for a quite weekend away with your loved ones or looking for a weekend break in Galway city, Abbey Lodge has the right room for you. At Abbey Lodge we pride ourselves on our running a clean, friendly bed and breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Ebookers so you can book your Abbey Lodge Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing